Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Hawk's Nest - 5.6 Average Rating = 3.53/5 Average Rating : 3.53/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: peter.s.murphy on 2011-06-26 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Best of the day.

Nice climb but the early moves are a commitment. The crack and the face are fun. The bolts are off to the left and not ideal for setting a toprope on Hawk's Nest. The nut is loose on the bolt on the right.

Added: 2011-06-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: justinjohnsen on 2010-08-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars TR

Climbed the gully to a ledge with a thorn bush and giant poison ivy. Borrowed the belay bolts over Hawk's Neck - right bolt was a spinner - and ran the rope through two cams to minimize swing. Climbed pitch 1 on TR - super fun - then popped the cams and TR'ed Hawk's Neck. Tough side of 5.6 imho.

Added: 2010-08-30

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: choplops on 2008-09-08 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars Sometime in September

The first pitch is decent, the second pitch ascends a horrible erosion gulley its loose, covered in dirt, with little protection, you could probably get other gear in, but not much 4 old pitons, and enormous rope drag

Added: 2010-03-25

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: abobo123 on 2009-02-21 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Alternate Second Pitches?

Used the bolt anchors at the top to explore two alternative endings to this climb. From the anchors of the first pitch, move right and pull the bulge at the thin crack (two pitons) on large holds. From here, either follow a fist crack through another bulge and up to the top, or step left and follow steep rock and a small inside corner past a knife blade piton to the top. Protection is there, with no run outs, but it's harder than I am comfortable leading on stover shale and the rock is pretty questionable. Both seemed to go about 5.8+, mostly for the strain in pulling the bulges, which were nice and exposed. P1 is great though with good gear.

Added: 2009-02-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: abobo123 on 2008-09-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Sometime in September

I flashed the first pitch, Ryan onsighted the second up that dirty, horrible erosion gulley. Little tricky on the start. Do not recommend the second pitch as written in the book. Loose, covered in dirt, with little protection save 4 old pitons, and enormous rope drag. Probably not even worth it if it was clean. Second pitch felt PG13. Be carefull not to get the rope stuck in the crack before the traverse. Jam a nut in it at the bottom of the seam.

Added: 2009-02-06

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rbrodie on 2008-11-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun climb

It was fun but scary because we had the rope set up around the corner. So if I would fall, I would swing out into the rock. The run off water from the rain the day before made the beginning interesting.

Added: 2008-11-17

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: NJ_Climber on 2008-11-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great Climb

Fun right facing corner. Plus you get the added bonus of a 5.4 scramble to set the toprope.

Added: 2008-11-16

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: Kazoo1622 on 2008-10-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Hawk's Nest (Extended Webbing for Top Rope)

Fun Climb, Ceiling creates fun problem solving

Added: 2008-10-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: blckwiteboy on 2008-10-13 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Bomber top anchor

I had a ton of fun on this. I on sited this one pretty much after a friend begged me to do it. Watch the pricker bush about half way up. It almost yanked me off the wall. But I didn't see the poison ivy any more. You guys must have killed it finally.

Added: 2008-10-14

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: haus81 on 2008-10-03 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Poison Ivy - ugh

Fun first pitch that seems to get easier as it goes. I didn't hit any poison ivy until the second pitch and then, very little. Someone has obviously tried to kill most of it as there were a couple vines dead and dying. *2

Added: 2008-10-03

> >|

Record your own Ascent