Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Scheister - 5.7 Average Rating = 3.62/5 Average Rating : 3.62/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: aerili on 2010-11-06 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Did standard p3 this time

First did this in April and did a p3 variation finish since we did not know where to go. This time I led p1 (no #4 with me-- whoops), Malieka led p2, and Karsten led standard p3. Crazy, grunty finish. I agree, old school 5.7 and not for the fledgling .7 leader! Yosemite-esque climbing.

Added: 2010-11-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: retro67 on 2009-05-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Scheister

Mike L. led 2nd. pitch.

Added: 2009-08-02

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: chizoad on 2009-01-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Chimney...

First trad experience, and the chimney was grunty. Sweet lieback on the 2nd pitch. Route has a little bit of everything, including impressive exposure when you come out of the tunnel.

Added: 2009-01-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: ladyjay on 2008-04-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Remember your pro...

Got a little ballsy on the chimney and set a #3 way low and ran it out to the squeeze/crux. Got a #2 in and worked my way up. Pitches 2, 3 are classic. Great climb. Chimney is cake with a #3 and #4 and a pretty creepy when you've got nothing. Lesson learned.

Added: 2008-04-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: oliverkollar on 2008-04-05 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Physical and Awkward

The first pitch is the business, the difficulty eases on the 2nd and 3rd pitches. Old school and fun.....

Added: 2008-04-08

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jgailor on 2008-03-08 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Super Easy

Super easy climb, although I solo'd the chimney on the first pitch because I'm trying to lighten the amount of gear I bring with me on trad climbs, and didn't have anything big enough to fit in the crack at the back. The lieback on the second pitch is fun, but the top-out sucks if you go through the "tunnel". It's a pain to belay your second from there. Still, it was the first day out this season, and not a bad climb

Added: 2008-03-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Rockjunkie15 on 2008-02-19 (View Climbing Log)

1 out of 5 stars Not worth it

Not fun.

Added: 2008-02-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: b_squared on 2007-10-14 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun (but the chimney was scary)

Took me forever to muster up the guts to climb the chimney, but I made it through alright. Good thing I had two 4 inch cams with me, although one of them was kind of broken.

Second and third pitches were tons of fun as well. I was stupid enough to climb without a shirt and I was freezing my butt off at the top of the loaf. Eventually found a tree I could rappel from on the west side and got the heck down.

Added: 2007-10-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: phewes on 2007-09-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Loafin it

Did this route on a pretty hot September Day. One nice thing was the belayer could sit in the shade at the start. I ended up linking the first pitch up to the anchors above the pitch 2 lie back section which worked fine. The first pitch was varied and fun. The chimney was a bit hard to protect. Since the area burned there is a lot of sun exposure on the way up and many trees around the base are gone. Definitely a cooler season area.

Added: 2007-09-04

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: cobbledik on 2007-03-25 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars worst day of my life

lost the route multiple times, went to the left for pitch 2, had to traverse the face to get back on route, scary pendulum threat on crap shoes that didn't smear to save my life. 3rd pitch ended up going around the face to the right instead of through the tunnel and got stuck from rope drag. set up a hanging belay and had to retreat once my second reached me because I didn't know if there was an exit around the corner and didn't want to downclimb a commiting exposed face. Rap down took forever to try to find bolts on the east side. all in all, spent 8.5 hours on the rock wandering to a fro.
On top of that, the climbing wasn't that spectacular
On top of that, my walkie talkie fell and shattered
On top of that, my dig camera's screen got smashed as I was worming up the 1st pitch.

worst climbing day this year so far.

Added: 2007-03-26

> >|

Record your own Ascent