Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Super Direct - 5.8 Average Rating = 3.83/5 Average Rating : 3.83/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: bdc on 2011-10-09 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2011-10-09

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: llkenned on 2009-09-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars bring a crash pad

very cool, tough start. bring pads for the rocks, a blue TCU goes in at the beginning roof.

Added: 2009-10-11

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: LineoFire on 2009-06-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars great start

bouldery start but great stances under the roof for bomber gear...once youre out of the roof the climbing is super mellow. traverse can be difficult to protect for the second

Added: 2009-06-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: mjwestla on 2009-06-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars worth doing if you can manage the start somehow and stay on track

5.8 my ass... I aided my way through the start and then enjoyed some really nice climbing up until the chimney.

I climbed this in *cough* 3 pitches. It should have been 2 but I screwed up and created too much rope drag on pitch 2 and had to break it up at a little bushy ledge. I began by aiding my way through the start (feels more like a really hard 5.10 series of moves) and moved up the easy face and crack after that (5.6ish). I set the belay after stepping left over the roof and into a really nice spot. It was pretty exposed but had a very comfortable ledge and, once seated, a head level crack for gear. Note: make sure your anchor is bomber if your second might have to work the start! I completed a traverse section which wasn't at all bad and came to the base of a chimney which had a tree with a rap station. I proceeded to royally screw up this section as I wasn't entirely sure where the line went and created monster rope drag. I passed a green leafy area (my eventual 2nd belay) and traversed under when I should have climbed up through a slight overhang. At the overhang you are about 40 feet from the top/Crow's nest. I'll go this way next time, although I think it's a bit runout. It may also be possible to climb outside the chimney and continue diagonally left and up to the crow's nest. The outside of the chimney felt pretty exposed though and rock quality was poor.

The start earns the grade, the rest is probably 5.6 with just a couple of 7 moves, if that.

Added: 2009-06-08

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: dutyje on 2009-03-22 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Whiskey Tango Foxtrot?

I've never seen an 8 with a crux like this. Definitely a sandbag. It took me several tries to pull this very low crux. A support crew fed me additional gear from the ground. Fire a #2 TCU into the roof, as you go, followed by a mid-sized nut (any will do) in the corner of the roof. Gain the generous stance, empty your pants of any rocks that may have been dislodged in your struggles, and use a cord to haul up the rest of your rack, which you have cleverly left on the ground for the crux. The rest of the route features spectacular 5.6ish moves. The second pitch, though lichen-covered, is thoroughly enjoyable, although incredibly susceptible to rope drag. Definitely recommended for a solid 5.9 -5.10 leader. I'd call this a 10a, but the rest of the route climbs much easier than that.

Added: 2009-03-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jsj7051 on 2009-03-23 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars 1 Year Later!

Well , I've learned the meaning of "Burly" , its deffinatly 3 grades higher! Found the moves I was missing.Went thru the roof 1st try. VERY fun climbing after that. Had to belay at the "Faux's Nest" to cut down on rope drag. Slings and rings AT the big dead pine . The 2nd P is covered in lichen after the chimney. Next time we'll rap down at the Faux's Nest. If the start were easier this would be one of the most climbed routes there. I do need to find some larger nuts before I lead this, Maybe next year, maybe Joe will let me borrow his!

Added: 2009-03-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: mjwestla on 2009-03-07 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars burly indeed

The start was definitely some nasty non-8 stuff. It kept spitting off me and some folks I was with like a hard 10 that I needed to work. The "jug" over the roof is a sloping shelf for any aspirants admiring it from the ground. I tried a couple times and then backed off. Might come back and try it again sometime when I'm feeling a bit more energetic. I chatted with a local about the route and heard that there is a sketchy traverse that occasionally freaks out leaders who pull through the opening moves. She mentioned having to lower a line a couple times to assist a bail out. Still... the route beckons.

Added: 2009-03-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: gogalac on 2008-12-10 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars super direct

burly start for 5.8

Added: 2008-12-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: jsj7051 on 2008-04-26 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Burley??

Is the definition of "burley" 3 grades higher or am I missing a move or 3 off the ground? (I did get to the roof) Too tired to try and finish at end of all day climbing . ( Does that sound Okay for not finishing ?)

Added: 2008-04-27

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Teahq on 2007-05-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Not bad

Not bad if you skip the "burly" start if you go a little to the left and go around the roof quite easy.

Added: 2007-05-13

> >|

Record your own Ascent