Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Scimatar - 5.9 Average Rating = 4.30/5 Average Rating : 4.30/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great route

I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this route. I wish P1 were longer. It could probably be done in two pitches if setting the belay on the horizontal cracks past the bolts of P1. IMO Scimitar is much easier than the line.

Added: 2014-08-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Rockjunkie15 on 2011-07-29 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Just another climb

The climbing on this one isn't anything special except for a few moves on the 2 & 3 pitches.

Added: 2011-07-29

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cobbledik on 2010-07-06 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars -

---

Added: 2010-07-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: retro67 on 2009-08-21 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Scimitar

Ok route, all the stuff between Haystack and Bear Reach seems contrived because the dikes allow traversing to easier terrain up higher. We went left instead of right and did second pitch of "The Last Sandwich" and finished on the last pitch of Fantasia without even realizing it until we consulted Supertopo. We later did first 2 pitches of Fantasia, traversed right and down to anchors at the top of the first pitch of Scimitar and did last 2 pitches of Scimitar.

Added: 2009-08-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: diggler on 2009-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars great route!

Awesome route! Sustained, interesting, & thought-provoking climbing. .6 or not, the 'R' certainly got my attention! I was very glad to get to my next piece of pro'... IMO, one of the best climbs at The Leap.

Added: 2009-07-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9 V0 WI1 A0 M1 F
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: greenrocker on 2009-06-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars great route

great route must do at the Leap

Added: 2009-06-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: plantmandan on 2009-06-14 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Very fun

This route is as good as the line and more sustained. I found the runout to be very nervy. The roofs on p3 are a lot of fun.

Added: 2009-06-15

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: gymbo on 2008-06-22 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Climbed with Janice

Had my tail between my legs in places.

Added: 2008-06-27

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: radioface on 2007-04-09 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Holy geeze

Do this one. It's wandering, varied, and the pro is good (except for the 5.6 section). Honestly though, if you're climbing this route, 5.6 R should not bother you.

Added: 2007-04-09

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: phewes on 2006-10-06 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

The bulges towards the top just keep coming. I felt tested. I liked the route and the difficulty.

Witnessed by: Mike Parks
Added: 2006-10-06

> >|

Record your own Ascent