Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: North Chimney - 5.9 popular Average Rating = 4.55/5 Average Rating : 4.55/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: 5starclimbs on 2012-10-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars w/Mary Eden

mary always has fun !

Added: 2012-10-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wally on 2009-04-22 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars super

I got my arm twisted into this, but it was very,very worth it. The route and exposure up through the chimney are awesome. I hope that bolt has been replaced, I wouldn't trust it to aid on. The rock is polished and that section is thought provoking. we climbed as two seperate parties and just shared the BD#5 at that one critical spot. I am super glad we went with someone who had been there before - the rap stations were bomber, but not completely intuitive.

Added: 2011-05-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: softman on 2011-04-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Bring a jacket!

Did this on a day where the forecasted high was 60 degrees. I was wearing a softshell and was still shivering the whole time in the chimney and could barely feel my fingers. Spectacular climb nonetheless. 1st pitch was a lot more sustained than I was expecting.

Added: 2011-04-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2010-09-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars North Chimney

Great route. I had already done the North Face and Kor Ingalls. The North Chimney is so much better than the Kor Ingalls. LOL, some gal wrote in the climbers log on top...she did not know whether they had just done the North Face (5.11) vs North Chimney, dude, trust me, if you don't know, you did the North Chimney! Loved the first two pitches, really did, prob best route at the grade 5.8+ in all of the Towers. I combined those last two pitches.

Added: 2010-09-30

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: KVjay on 2009-05-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars North Chimney

Way better than Kor/Ingalls, don't drink too much Scotch the night before!

Added: 2010-03-22

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: mwill on 2009-05-28 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Epic

Take headlamps and lots of water and food and more water. Worst approach in the history of the word approach. Stuck ropes. Horrible belay ledges. Can layback entire first pitch. Slept on the rocks.

Added: 2009-08-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: fireinice on 2009-10-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Awesome!

Castleton. is. amazing. What a cool climb! One of my first multi-pitches, I had a lot of trouble with the first pitch, but from there on out, it was great.

Added: 2009-07-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: brody.brainless on 2009-05-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Stellar Climb!

Such an awesome climb! combined the 2nd and 3rd pitches with ease (60m rope). The view from the top is so rad. A must do!

Added: 2009-06-26

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: shippling on 2009-05-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars utah trip

awesome first pitch

Added: 2009-06-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: conekilr on 2009-03-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars First Multi-Pitch

Desert climbing is amazing, especially this tower. First time multi-pitch and cleaning trad gear. A bit cool and the wind picked up after the 2nd pitch. Climbed with some friends (3 groups of 2) and no one else was around. We started the approach at 4:00 a.m.with 3 hours of sleep and couldn't find the trail. Instead we scrambled around, following the silhouette of the tower in the moonlight. Wicked approach! I had never touched a crack and so made it hard on myself. I finally managed to lay back and chimney my way up.

Added: 2009-05-13

> >|

Record your own Ascent