Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Mr. Big - 5.10d popular Average Rating = 3.84/5 Average Rating : 3.84/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: clr288 on 2013-10-14 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun route

Fun, traversing route. Stay along/over the right side of the arete for the best holds and best positioning to clip. 3rd and 5th bolts are the toughest...5th bolt loses the burly holds and requires a little balance and technique. Rest of it is just a pump fest but fun. Lead falls or TR falls are a little scary due to the boulder below the 3rd & 4th bolts

Added: 2013-10-14

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: TheNags on 2011-08-21 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Redpoint

.

Added: 2011-08-21

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: spoons6 on 2010-04-10 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars fun

probably not 10d though

Added: 2011-04-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: chanson on 2011-01-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars I will have you Mr. Big, oh yes. Someday, I will have you.

After hearing this was my bf's nemesis of 2 years, I was ready to take on Mr. Big myself. I'd watched carefully as those before me ascended, but my focus waned as they all neared the crux, and alas I did not prepare myself for what I would later curse. And to further complicate things, I was given the direction to clean it. Had I ever cleaned a route before? No. This was only my 5th outdoor climb ever, I'd never gotten past a 10b indoors, and I haven't even led an outdoor route. Was I entirely confident I could do it? Yes. Until my ever trusting boyfriend implored "Really. Are you sure you want her to do that??!!" It was then I started to mentally take a step back. Here's what happened. After cleaning the first biner, I fell 3 feet initially into the boulder, shook it off, then cleaned the next biner and muttered "I see blood in my future", the next, screamed Kelly Clarkson more than once, and after my 4th biner, ultimately swung all the way over to The Non-Nipple 11c and made sure I was all cool with the Big Guy Upstairs. A little defeated and battle-worn, I could only muster enough physical and mental strength to climb the rope to the bolts. My team wasn't about to let me down, so I inch by inch climbed up the now 11c route and was pulled up to clean the biners from the top bolts. Knowing full well the implications of "cleaning" a route, I arm-looped one of Gods greatest creations, a tree, and held on for dear life just in case. With my team down below instructing and approving of every move, I finally was safely allowed to descend to solid ground again. I didn't complete you this time Mr. Big, but your day will come. Oh yes. It will come.

Added: 2011-01-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating X
Solo Solo ascent by: justinbeitler on 2010-09-09 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Be careful

At least one big hold in the middle was flexing quite a bit. Felt like it could go under enough pressure..

Added: 2010-09-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: justinbeitler on 2010-09-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Soft, big holds, fun movement

Super soft for the grade. Good warm up for some surround climbs that are a bit harder. Really big holds that flow nicely

Added: 2010-09-05

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: nlklimmer on 2010-08-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Be careful clipping third bolt

I made the clip and popped off, decked on my ass on the bolder below... luckily missed breaking my coccyx by an inch...

Added: 2010-08-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: kyleht287 on 2010-08-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Big moves on Jugs

This route is fun if your things is big pumpy jug hauls like yours truly. I thought it was an excellent line. Thought it was soft for the grade, it would be a 10b in the gorge.

Added: 2010-08-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: rode8218 on 2010-07-17 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Awesome route!

sweet climb up a slanting arete, cool holds and sweet movement. pummpy and hard! Great, best route I did in the area!

Added: 2010-07-17

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: MWomack on 2009-05-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fun!

at the time, it was my favorite sport climb ever! big pumpy moves. don't be too afraid of the rocks below, unless you skip a bolt, then take a fall, you'll be fine.

Added: 2010-05-17

> >|

Record your own Ascent