Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Psychedelic Tree - 5.9 Average Rating = 3.90/5 Average Rating : 3.90/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: csproul on 2014-10-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars definitely still

some loose blocks and dirt on the route, but easy to avoid and a really fun route. Consistent difficulty and good protection.

Added: 2014-10-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: stevecurtis on 2013-07-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars rope solo

A fun route. Secure holds the whole way. The roof blocks are ugly though.

Added: 2013-07-14

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: nkane on 2012-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars still not totally clean.

one loose jug to deal with and lots of moss/dirt. The finishing moves aaaaalllllmost make up for it.

Added: 2012-07-03

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: aerili on 2010-10-16 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Amazing route

Only 2 semi-loose blocks left, easy to maneuver around--stop yer bitching, people! This route is perfectly safe, perfectly wonderful, sustained for the grade, better than The Line, never requires WAITING IN LINE, and is an all around joy to ascend. If you really believe the Supertopo star rating for this route (2 stars) as compared to a route like, say, Blue Cab (3 stars), you are a moron. DON'T MISS THIS ONE!

Added: 2010-10-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: petertherock on 2009-07-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars This sister is not as ugly ...

as Supertopo says. Actually, it is a great, well-protected and safe climb (now that the loose blocks are gone). Stepup from The Line, few horizontal dikes, sustained stemming where the blocks were. I think that's the crux. The roof provides an icing over this route.
I followed it 3 years ago, this time I led the entire route.

Added: 2009-07-22

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: A-Bowl on 2008-10-23 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Funny

We started this as the sun went down and at the half way mark as darkness completely closed my buddy found a headlamp he stashed in his pack for some mountain biking. He had totally forgotten about it so we were doing the dark thing for a while which was interesting. Roof was awesome end to a beautiful day. fun all round

Added: 2008-10-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: marmolada on 2008-06-21 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars -

I agree with CaptainPolution, I found this route more interesting and rewarding than The Line. Excellent pro all the way to the top.

Added: 2008-07-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: CaptainPolution on 2007-09-08 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars awesome

better than the line in my opinion. the roof section was awesome and the whole route just sucks in pro like a vacuum.

Added: 2007-09-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: feraldog on 2007-06-22 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Psychedelic Tree

Actually a quite nice climb despite a few loose blocks. I encountered only two but that's probably two two many.

Added: 2007-06-25

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: salamanizer on 2006-09-10 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars Poo Poo

Someone needs to trundle those loose blocks before someone gets killed. Seriously. Not a super great route like people make it out to be, but the topout's pretty cool, as long as you go over the roofs and not up the suffering tree.

Added: 2006-09-10

> >|

Record your own Ascent