Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: The Nightcrawler - 5.10c Average Rating = 4.38/5 Average Rating : 4.38/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: snoopy138 on 2013-10-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars really fun

The chimney on P2 is not bad, just have to figure out how to use the face holds. P3 seemed stiff for RR 10c, especially the move off the ledge past the last 2 bolts.

You can rap Time's Up (left side of the hourglass) with a single 70m rope.

Added: 2013-10-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2010-03-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Nightcrawler

Tend to agree with the others. A hard 5.10 lead on those last two pitches. A ton of stemming. Still feeling it and I am a flexible old dude. I led the longer third pitch. Real fun and super protected. The 2nd pitch was a good one too. Will have to give this route fives stars for quality even though it is not that long. We combined with Hourglass diversion for a total of seven pitches. You do not have to walk off at the top of Hourglass. To your left is a bolted rap station that will take your directly back to the top of Nightcrawler with double 60's. I have done all the routes on this wall. High Anxiety and Pro Choice are also good routes. With Joe A.

Added: 2010-03-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: byran on 2009-01-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Nightcrawler

Great climb. Probably my favorite I've done in Red Rock, although there's still a lot of great climbs I have yet to do. The descent gully was still full of snow and ice from that blizzard last month. Hiking down took forever and required an extra rappel. I wish we had gotten an early start so we could have spent more time enjoying the summit instead of rushing to get down. If you've never topped out Brownstone Wall, it's well worth climbing the last pitch. It's an impressive ridge with a great view off the backside.

Added: 2009-01-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lou on 2008-11-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars The meaning of nightcrawler

I think Catherine and I found out the meaning of nightcrawler.... you have to squirm your way up a flaring v-slot....very akin to the one on "thin ice" in the Needles; which goes at 10b... you decide. Personally the thin ice was easier. Give the grade overall.. 10d... imho. I can imagine alot of cursing goin on in that chimney from time to time... heh heh. Wonderful "backcountry" experience ... at least by Vegas standards. Do it...

Added: 2008-11-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: agalwholikesclimbs on 2008-11-16 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars Don't think so

Hmmmm, I disliked this route. ...and it's not even the smooth flare chimney that did it.
Thought P2 was a 5.10a, and P3 a 5.11-, IMHO.

Good job to Lou the leader. Maybe after the memories of this experience have had much time to fade (including the long-ass approach), I will try again and hope for better results. Good luck on it.

Added: 2008-11-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: laurelja on 2008-11-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fatty

Second pitch for big people

Added: 2008-11-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: vegastradguy on 2008-10-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars superb

absolutely outstanding!

Added: 2008-10-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: flamer on 2008-03-06 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Good climb

Super fun.

Added: 2008-03-06

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ardilla on 2006-04-03 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2006-04-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: crackmd on 1998-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Stellor. Amazing stemming pitch. Have done this twice.

Witnessed by: Mark Mcdaniel
Added: 1998-03-24

Record your own Ascent