Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Southern Arete - 5.10c Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: iceisnice on 2006-10-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Loved it

amazing climb. don't under estimate it though. we thought we were fast........we were wrong.

Added: 2006-12-04

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fearlessclimber on 2006-04-09 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

this was my first big wall climb and i had a great time, after the climb i slept for like 16 hours you could say i was tired

Witnessed by: kyle, rick
Added: 2006-04-09

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: takeme on 2005-09-12 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

I loved this route and will definitely do it again. It's a great adventure and it gets you waaay up there. Despite a fair amount of choss, almost all the climbing is really fun, and the route consistently gets steeper and more spectacular the higher you go. It feels like climbing a mountain rather than simply a big cliff. We both thought the offwidth move by the tube chock was the route crux--I barely eeked through on TR. It has great pro though (but the route as a whole is pretty serious). Took us just under 9 hours to do the climb, with about 1.5 for the approach and a little over an hour for the hike back to camp. This would be a good climb to do if you've done the Scenic Cruise and want to do another grade V 5.10 in the Black, just don't come expecting the same high quality rock.

Witnessed by: Josh Janes (jsj42)
Added: 2005-09-12

Ratings
  Difficulty
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: cologman on 2004-08-11 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

As Josh said, another a$$ kicking in the Black. He pretty well summed it up. The only thing I can add is why do I keep going back?.... 'cause its the Black. I'm sure there are more mini-epics waiting there for me.

Witnessed by: Josh Thompson
Added: 2004-08-11

Ratings
  Difficulty
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: flamer on 2004-08-11 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Another A$$ kicking in the black.
Dehydration, route finding problems, getting lost in the woods- would it be the black without alittle epic thrown in?
We were to wasted to send the upper crux pitch's- the french may have something going here. A good day.

Witnessed by: Jeff Bevan
Added: 2004-08-11

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: dscottusa on 1978-09-21 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 1978-09-21

Record your own Ascent