Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Astroman - 5.11c popular Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: barwatt on 2010-06-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Astroman

Probably the best route I've ever done. Every pitch is memorable except for the first one. Great gear until the very end, but the spicy finish makes the route even better.

Added: 2012-09-06

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11d
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: USnavy on 2012-06-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Classic

Hands down the best line in Yosemite. The crack climbing is better than the Nose!

Added: 2012-06-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: salamanizer on 2010-06-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Super world class route.

Amazing climbing the whole way. It has every aspect of classic Yosemite Valley climbing. Offwidths, Chimneys, fist cracks, hand cracks, face climbing, grassy dirty climbing, run outs with sketcy gear... everything.

It's said, when you climb Astroman, you have arrived to valley climbing. I've been waiting to climb this route for a while. I wanted to wait so that I could get an onsight. Well, I'm proud to say, I got the onsight. Getting in the harding slot was definately the crux. I was hoping to find some sort of beta for future accents but I really didn't find any. Thrash and pray was all I can say.

Added: 2010-06-14

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11d
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: stevecurtis on 2006-10-13 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars fantastic

I've done this about 10 x over the years. Be ready for all types of climbing on this one, of course, heavy on hand cracks. The last pitch is R if you go for it. The first pitch seems harder to me.
the harding slot is never fun. Prepare for a round with Tyson.

Added: 2009-10-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: tklein on 2004-04-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Best Cracks on Earth

The cracks are better than the Nose, Salathe, Rostrum, or anything else that I have put my hands into.
A must do.

Added: 2009-10-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: lightrack on 2009-05-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars astro!

sweet route! route went smooth except the move getting into the harding slot....damn that move is hard! only fall on the route.....

Added: 2009-05-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fearlessclimber on 2008-06-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars wowowowowow

i love it, fave for sure

Added: 2008-06-30

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rexcarrs on 1985-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars One of the best routes anywhere

I first did this in '85. I've done it 3 more times since then & have never fallen or hung, but it always feels stout in the Harding Slot, which is the crux for me, being a bit barrel chested. :( Lots of excellent rock, some good ledges, the face at top is not too bad. The enduro pitch has no move harder than 5.10d but there's only a couple of rests in 130' of cranking.

Added: 2008-01-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: jreyher on 2003-04-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars great day of climbing

words don't do it justice!

Added: 2007-11-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: graniteboy on 1994-05-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A-man

fell at Boulder pitch and getting into harding slot. Silly me. Troy Corliss led the hardest stuff.

Added: 2007-11-05

> >|

Record your own Ascent