Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Preparation H - 5.8 Average Rating = 4.20/5 Average Rating : 4.20/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: critterdude542 on 2011-09-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars haystack 2.0

much better start! with this pitch it makes the climb a little more sustained cause i thought p2 of haystack was only a one move wonder. lead pitches 1 and 3

Added: 2011-09-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: KCN on 2010-08-22 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars finger locks

definitely the better variation of haystack way fun well protected corner

Added: 2010-08-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: trevzilla on 2009-09-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Preparation H

In the top three of my favorite pitches I did at Lover's Leap. Never did the first pitch of Haystack, but I imagine Preparation H is the way to go. It climbed, and protected very well, and was varied. (From what I hear, pitch 1 on Haystack is too easy. . .make it trickier by climbing this one!)

Added: 2009-09-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: bafiesta on 2008-09-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Prep H pitch

More interesting 1st pitch variation to Haystack. Fun pitch.

Added: 2008-09-18

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: jav_ang on 2008-05-31 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars -

-

Added: 2008-06-02

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: robynladin on 2008-06-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars hemorrhoids for climbing

preparation H is what you need...

that makes no sense. fun route. pretty much a variation of haystack if someone is already on it. a few mini roof moves that keeps things interesting, but hemorrhoid free.

Added: 2008-06-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: charlieliu on 2007-09-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars alternate start to Haystack

did it

Added: 2008-05-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: phewes on 2007-09-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Been itch'n to climb this one

This was a good route. Dosn't get the traffic of the other east wall climbs so it's not all chalked up, bit of vegetation too. It got my blood pumping and kept me focused. Really a nice pitch.

Added: 2007-09-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: brizza on 2007-06-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Preparation H

Nathan led all pitches (i had just led the line - his turn!). Those roofs on haystack are sick. Hrummy for 5.8, but not technically harder than that.

Added: 2007-06-05

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: caughtinside on 2006-05-13 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Better first pitch to Haystack. More challenging, fun moves.

Added: 2006-05-13

> >|

Record your own Ascent