Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Western Union - 5.8 Average Rating = 3.71/5 Average Rating : 3.71/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: BadBeta on 2013-09-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Western Union

Hot day, relatively solid rock, fun. Lead pitches 1,3,5. Pitch 5 was sustained, but fun.

Added: 2013-09-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: CamelCigarettePack on 2013-09-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Western Union

Rad route, lots of fun; fairly straightforward route finding. Some run out sections, moves from the second pitch to the 5.7 crack I thought were pretty cruxy! Last pitch was probably my favorite.

Added: 2013-09-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2006-10-09 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Western Union

With Peter and Nayden. Incredible fall day, short sleeves all day! That last pitch, 5, was the most sustained and interesting, going up the rib to the left of the Pumpkin. Peter had to do a roof move on 3 that was interesting. Otherwise, just some fall exercise for the most part. Rock was good quality though, textured, no squirrel piss.

Added: 2008-07-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: uvic_climber on 2007-11-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Very Nice Route

We climbed this in mid november. The climbing is great with a few sizable run-outs. Our experience turned interesting when it began to blizzard on the last pitch. Great climb though

Added: 2007-11-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: iluvrocks on 2007-08-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Western Union

my very first route on the Yam, nice climbing, we didn't exactly follow Western Union, kinda zigzaged through it...

Added: 2007-09-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: nayden on 2006-10-20 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars OK route

A short route that I did with two friends. My first Yam ascent.

Added: 2006-12-14

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lovesclimbing on 2005-10-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Found the route fun but I would not call it a Yam 5.8. It shares the first two pitchs of Easy street as most of the west end routes do. I found this climb alot more of a sport route than trad however that being said this is not a sport climb. I would say one of the better west end routes.

Added: 2005-10-08

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cragger on 2005-05-21 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Nice route, 3rd pitch was fun, a bit off-route on the final pitch. Worth doing.

Added: 2005-05-21

Ratings
  Difficulty
Flash Flash ascent by: mikewarren on 2005-02-27 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Yes, really in february. With craig,
esther, carlyle.

Added: 2005-02-27

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tonydevo on 2004-04-18 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2004-04-18

> >|

Record your own Ascent