Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: On The Lamb - 5.9 Average Rating = 4.80/5 Average Rating : 4.80/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: csproul on 2014-06-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Simply amazing

perfect crack splitting the dome in a perfect horizontal. One of the beset climbs I've done in Yosemite. Mostly easy with an endurance crux of ~30-40 ft where the feet disappear.

Added: 2014-06-30

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2013-06-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars On the Lamb

We soloed up to the ledge which we had no trouble locating. Saw somewhere on the web where folks were confused...which confuses me on how they could be. Very straight forward. The first pitch is just a traverse right to find a short vertical crack which gets to the horizontal. The first of two pitches that cover the main horizontal is mellow. Look for the fixed station down a few meters that divides them up. I led the 5.9 crux pitch (3rd roped pitch) The blank feet section is around a blind corner. It is about 40'. A .75 was solid pro at the arete you turn to have full view. Then I just hand-railed it over to my next rest which is what I recommend, keep your arms straight and you will not get pumped. Easier than it looks. We finished on Jailbreak which was worthy. A 2 pitch 5.9 sport climb. The 2nd pitch is the crux and offers neat exposure, and well bolted after you reach the first bolt off the belay. Walk down the back side by angling right.

Added: 2013-06-25

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: snoopy138 on 2012-09-09 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars cool rowt

had to hang on a long time through the crux to protect my complaining second, who had already bailed on leading that pitch.

If you have the gear, probably better to build a belay just up and right of the bolts at a nice stance. After the crux, don't stop in the corner to belay, go another 25 ft. to where the vertical crack intersects.

Added: 2012-11-03

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: goodman on 2010-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Wild feature for sure!

Sideways jug slingin' for a couple hundred feet. Soft for 5.9.

Added: 2010-09-14

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: douglaskinsman on 2008-09-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Very different

Incredible route the likes of which you will rarely see! Had to hang trying to protect my second (my dad) through the crux; put four pieces in while trying to stay on. Definitely just gun it until decent footholds appear, it isn't bad. Watch out for windy conditions even on what may seem like a warm day.

Added: 2008-09-16

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: scenque on 2008-07-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun and unique climb

The crux pitch is kind of tiring, but the hands are all big jugs. Everything else is really mellow.

The recommended belays in the SuperTopo guide are all kind of uncomfortable (including the bolts). It would be much more comfortable to set your own belays at more obvious stances.

Added: 2008-07-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: vortenberg on 2005-07-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars On The Lamb

Very bizarre to climb horizontally for 3 pitches. Just blow through the crux, screw the second, it isn't too long. Didn't feel like running laps because the belays are fully hanging.

Added: 2007-11-14

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: blueeyedclimber on 2007-07-28 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Stellar!!

This climb was so much fun. I led the 5.5 R and the 5.9 pitch. Is it me or are Tuolumne grades soft? I though it was pretty easy, but man, what a climb. My only regret is that we didn't have a camera with us.

Added: 2007-07-28

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wonderwoman on 2007-07-19 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Best climb in the world

For real! Swung leads with Josh! I loved this climb. So fun, smooth and beautiful Like no other climb I've ever been on!

Added: 2007-07-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: keithspernak on 2007-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Killer

Too much fun. Just keep traversing over and over up high.

Added: 2007-07-20

> >|

Record your own Ascent