Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Hogwild - 5.7 Average Rating = 3.81/5 Average Rating : 3.81/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: losinghand on 2015-05-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Stiff new

Amanda led this, and it seemed pretty stiff for 5.7. Sustained, a little runout, and not great protection. I found it harder than the 5.9 next to it.

There's 3 bolts that could use longer slings. Otherwise some small crack exist - but still felt runout in places. Despite what supertopo says - I don't think anything larger than .75 would go. 70m rope just barely makes it to rap/tr - actually had have the climber solo a few feet to clip the belay in. Make sure to tie knots in the end.

It was a fun climb, though not quite the amazing status supertopo gave. A mix of styles, but mostly some small holds on horizontal dikes, a little balance-y

Added: 2015-05-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2012-06-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Sweet route

Climbed w party of 3. Best part was the crack at the top. I wish that crack was longer.

Added: 2012-06-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: kachoong on 2011-08-10 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Great 5.7

One of the better 5.7 climbs I've done. Pretty much 5.6-5.7 all the way.

Added: 2011-08-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: laurenswarley on 2010-05-29 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2010-06-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: trevzilla on 2009-09-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Hogwild

FANTASTIC pitch! It's way harder than it looks from the ground. Bring small pro, and go for it!

Added: 2009-09-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: retro67 on 2009-08-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Very nice

Best 5.7 pitch I've done in '09. Clean rock, fun moves. Did with Yvan S. TR'd "Unknown" next to it. Kind of contrived 'cause it ends at same anchors for Hogwild.

Added: 2009-08-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Muddud on 2009-05-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fun for a first timer

hadnt really done trad much, so i was stoked that there were a few bolts i could clip without questioning my pieces. good n simple.

Added: 2009-07-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Ebird on 2009-06-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Ascent note

A fun mix of face and crack. On one runout between bolts, it was easy to protect with a small tri-cam--a regular cam would work too.

Added: 2009-06-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rockwizard on 2008-07-06 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Hogwild

Good warm up for the other climbs nearby at Hogsback. Fun, but i do not remember it being super spectacular.

Added: 2009-01-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: orangekyak on 2008-06-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Followed Jen

Second time on the climb, wasn't as awesome as the first, when I considered it an amazing 5.7. Followed Jen.

Added: 2008-06-15

> >|

Record your own Ascent