Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Play It By Ear - 5.10b Average Rating = 3.10/5 Average Rating : 3.10/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wshaffer on 2012-09-29 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Playing It By Ear

Great climb to work at end of the day before dark. Got the onsight!

Added: 2012-11-08

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: rocket_man on 2001-09-01 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2011-05-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: maowcakes on 2009-08-08 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars cool but short

There are some neat moves in the middle (pockets), but the top is kinda weird. Also, have seen lots of bees around this climb as of July, 2009.

Added: 2009-08-10

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: onthesharpend1988 on 2008-10-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fun

cool warm up

Added: 2008-10-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dew4theq on 2001-11-03 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars nice warmup

Like a lot of routes down at Butcher's, this is one of my warm up routes. It's a fun climb, just gotta stay calm and work though the ending.

Added: 2008-10-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: dirtking360 on 2008-04-20 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars play it by pocket

wandered a little bit for me, but awesome payoff at the end, i thought i was coming off. sweet pockets and crimps. I thought maybe a .C?? i dunno its short.

Added: 2008-04-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: PhilPhan on 2004-06-23 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2008-03-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: thewyseclimber on 2007-10-07 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars also better than green piece

some really fun moves, and fantastic pockets around the 4th/5th bolts. don't know why it doesn't have stars in the book...and well protected, too. too bad the crux is right at the anchors. less grease, and more straightforward moves than g.p.

Added: 2007-10-07

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: limeydave on 2007-05-24 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2007-06-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: horalka on 2007-05-27 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Play it by Ear

Felt kind of goofy and off route on it, it was a warm-up climb for us and I guess thatís why it felt really pumpy

Added: 2007-05-29

> >|

Record your own Ascent