Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Irenes Arete - 5.8 Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jmeizis on 2009-09-06 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Awesome Ridge

This is a great ridge climb that actually stays pretty close to the crest. We did some of the 5.9 variations and they're a lot of fun although they felt a little harder than 5.9. We both agreed that this is probably the best long moderate we'd ever done. If it was easily accessible it'd be more popular than the Bastille Crack in my opinion.

The summit of Dissapointment is an added bonus. The views are awesome. Saw a team on the Red Sentinel which also looks like a cool little tower. Hard work getting there though.

The descent is hard to find, sketchy, and loose. There are several rappels near the end but getting too them involves some steep scree scrambling near steep drops. We didn't rope up but it might not have been a bad idea.

Added: 2009-09-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: elizaclimb on 2009-08-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Irenes arete

Followed julia up this awesome route. We did two pitches with a 5.9 variation. This climb is amazing. Perhaps the best!

Added: 2009-08-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: brizza on 2008-08-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Irenes Arete

One of the sickest climbs Ive ever done. Climbed with Liz, she took the odd pitches, I took the evens. So sustained at 5.8 - loved it.

Added: 2008-08-31

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: stamplis on 2008-08-09 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars _

SW Gully descent was the sketchiest part of the climb but we were camped at the Meadows so it seemed the most reasonable. Nevertheless, I would probably opt for a different option next time.

Added: 2008-08-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: keg5066 on 2008-08-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars great line and exposure

do the direct variation at the top. 5.10 but well protected

Added: 2008-08-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: sf on 2007-07-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Classic

Solid Rock, Clean Line, Good Exposure


Added: 2008-02-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: csproul on 2007-08-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars classic

We did exum one day and then camped in the caves, and did Irene's the next day. This was a great combination and it made the hike out of Garnet very manageable.

Added: 2007-08-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lucander on 2007-08-08 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Irene's

Worthy of it's reputation, the rock is brilliant. We found sustained climbing on the second pitch, all others, including variations, had soft cruxes and fantastic positioning. Camped in Garnet Canyon to complete the experience.

Added: 2007-08-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: MountainManV on 2006-09-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Spectacular climb

Probably the best climb I've ever sent

Added: 2007-07-16

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: northpole on 2007-06-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Irene's Arete

No Comment

Added: 2007-07-01

> >|

Record your own Ascent