Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: License to Bolt *** - 5.11b Average Rating = 3.75/5 Average Rating : 3.75/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: littlevahn on 2015-03-10 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Hard for the grade

Cool route, really comes down to a 2 move section off of some pretty poor crimpers.

Added: 2015-03-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11d
  Safety Rating G
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: critterdude542 on 2011-10-22 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Sweet!

Really fun, some really huge moves for me. would be a pretty solid onsight, and would def. be easier if you were taller.
also, feels stout for 11c, i dont care, i'll be the one to say it...5.11d

Added: 2011-10-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: DWinchester on 2011-10-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great Climb

Hard crux. Everyone I know thinks it is really hard for the newer .11c grade. Moves are solid and the climbing is sustained. Depending on your height there are good rests. Really fun but should be graded harder.

Added: 2011-10-09

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: mdalby on 2011-06-28 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars na

na

Added: 2011-06-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: souclimber on 2010-06-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars License to bolt

Crimpy low moves lead to easier climbing high.

Added: 2010-06-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ire510 on 2007-09-13 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars *

*

Added: 2009-09-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: robskee on 2009-06-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Sharp and tricky.

Sharp crux with combination of tricky moves at the beginning. Eases up toward the anchors. Fun climb!

Added: 2009-06-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: maowcakes on 2009-06-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars ouchy

Thought I cut my middle finger off on the crux crimp. Aside from that move, this route was one of my favorites at Smith.

Added: 2009-06-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: dew4theq on 2003-07-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Good climb

Good climb and it did have a tough low crux. I remember it hurting a little bit on the fingers, just had to suffer through it and got the redpoint.

Added: 2008-11-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: handsonthroat on 2008-07-23 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Wowsers!

A great route with a great stopper crux. After the crux, the climb is nothing but big fun moves from good hold to good hold.

Added: 2008-09-19

> >|

Record your own Ascent