Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Pioneer Route - 5.7 popular Average Rating = 4.91/5 Average Rating : 4.91/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty A1
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: falconeagle10 on 2013-08-13 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Monkey Face

first time at smith rock. first time aid climbing. glad i did it but i dont think aid climbing is for me

Added: 2014-02-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cdrysdale3 on 2011-08-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars EXPOSURE

The best route i've ever climbing. Perfect rock, fun moves, awesome exposure and great scenery.

Added: 2012-04-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7 A0
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wallfrog on 2011-11-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Monkey Face!

We started at the west face variation and hit up pioneer to the top, killer exposure

Added: 2011-12-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7 A0
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: brizza on 2011-01-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Monkey Face - Pioneer Route

Climbed with Micheal, linked up from West Face Variation route. I took aid pitch, Michael took top pitch. My first aid route, first aid lead.

Added: 2011-01-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ire510 on 2002-09-13 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars *

*

Added: 2009-09-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7 A0
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: madtrapper on 2007-08-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars In the top three climbs of my life.

I found myself out in OR for a family wedding with no gear. I wanted to climb at Smith Rock, so I hired David Potter. He sugested this route. It was freakn awsome.

Added: 2009-02-25

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: stamplis on 2007-06-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars _

I just can't believe I waited so long to do this route. If you haven't done it, get your butt over there! Has some of the most insane exposure I've ever experienced. It was really windy up there the day we did it: on the rappel down I was getting pushed all over the place - really wild!

Added: 2007-06-11

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: stickit on 2007-05-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Rainy Day Exposure

Good times. Loved Panic Point!!

Added: 2007-05-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7 A0
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: porcelainsunset on 2005-12-05 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Monkey Face, Pioneer Route

Awesome winter ascent. It snowed on us most of the day, and we where the only people in the park. Totally different experience from my other times on it. A must do route for Smith

Added: 2006-11-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7 A0
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wa_medic on 2003-11-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Awesome

Last pitch is known for it's exposure and it doesn't let down.

Added: 2006-11-18

> >|

Record your own Ascent