Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Selaginella - 5.8 Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-05-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Superb route (Link up with commitment)

First attempt (09/28/13) Lead P1, and thought it was very strenuous for 5.7 ow. Bailed at 4pm b/c it was getting to late to finish with daylight.
Second attempt (4/5/14) Linked up with Commitment. (P1,P3 of Commitment) Lead P2,P4 of Salaginella; Perfect link up for a gorgeous day (Actually harder than commitment). Tony lead P1 and P3. What a great route . It would be 5 star if it was not for P2 and P3. Be careful specially with P3 because the topo is not very descriptive. It is not very intuitively that you have to clip the piton and do the "wild" move; it is an exposed move to gain a ledge where you traverse left. (We got a little bit off route but we climbed down and did the traverse that we missed initially). P1 and P4 are definitely 5 stars and really have it all: hand jams, little ow, finger section with stem moves to top it all aff with an airy layback finish at the chimney. (A must do!)
At the end once you get to the falls trail make sure you go right to see the falls (Don't miss out!). Trail down to the base goes left.

Added: 2014-05-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: I_am_very_happy_2_b_here on 2012-10-29 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars add a few more pitches to one of the climbs below

good climb. we did the harder 5.9 big corner over to the right. thought it was hard for 5.9

Added: 2012-12-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: andrea37 on 2011-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great link-up

With Commitment. P1 is an awesome, sustained hand crack. The entire last pitch felt pretty airy to me. Top out right next to the lookout for Yosemite Falls which is awesome.

Added: 2011-06-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: douglaskinsman on 2011-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Good link up

A lot easier than Supertopo plays it out to be and the wide cracks are only on pitch 1 and are nothing to be afraid of as they have a handcrack in the back. There is some route finding but common sense should find the right way. A few loose sections on pitch 1 but other than that I would recommend it based on exposure, nice climbing, and a cool topout location only a 100 yards from the falls vista.

Added: 2011-05-31

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: shong on 2009-10-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars better than I'd remembered

some great continuous crack climbing!

Added: 2009-10-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: chugar on 2009-10-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Nice way to end the day

The Caverns - Selaginella Linkup

Superb, sustained, and fun hand jamming all the way. P2 was the route finding crux. P3 had that memorable traverse and more hand jamming. But the hand jams made the day for me. Climbed with SH.

Added: 2009-10-06

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: anonymi on 2009-06-03 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars not such a classic link-up..

Was fun doing this after Comittment, but meandering route finding challenges were more tiresome than I hoped.
After the short nose-shaped chimney, look for the bolt and peg on the ledge above. (you dont want to go up the damp notch). You want to traverse left from the bolt on thin flakes, and to a small tree. I would belay here for rope drag. Then go straight up the crack system til you get to the ledge and final unlikely flake.
Watch out for falling rocks!

Added: 2009-06-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: joy_bunnag on 2008-10-06 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Freak

I freak Yaro out at the traversing ,it was hard to hear any suggestion ,shouting with tear, After that fear is something I have to be friend with!!! Thanks for leading me. I finally had a great fun.
Good link -with Commitment

Added: 2009-03-06

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: corduroyrob on 2008-07-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars none

commitment - selaginella linkup
first pitch was a workout -and loved the big flake topout for a finish

Added: 2008-07-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jgailor on 2008-06-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Exciting

First time I've ever had my belayer take me off belay while I was climbing. Party above us happened to be yelling just the right words to make her think I was off belay. This was during the off-widthy part of the first pitch. I had my knee locked off in the crack and that was about it.

The exposed move from the little ledge around to the bigger one is pretty damn cool.

Added: 2008-06-24

> >|

Record your own Ascent