Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: It's Better With Bacon - 5.8 popular Average Rating = 3.74/5 Average Rating : 3.74/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: csproul on 2014-09-07 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars ok route

slab padding but nothing spectacular. Still fun and worth doing once.

Added: 2014-09-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2012-06-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Who doesn't love bacon?

Agreed. Last pitches were the best. P1 is interesting to protect on the micro nuts.

Added: 2012-06-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lextalion on 2010-08-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Better with Bacon and climbing partners like Ricky Martin

Had a blast cruizing up this with my lavida Loca partner. the last two pitches were the best.

Added: 2011-07-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: satch on 2011-06-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars love those RPs

fun stuff, lead the 1st and 3rd, swapping leads with BG (Bad Girl). RPs and Lowe balls sewed up the first pitch.

Added: 2011-06-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lextalion on 2010-09-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars It's always Better w/ Bacon

Was surprised by the shortness of the pitches. The last pitch in my opinion is the best.

Added: 2010-09-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: satch on 2010-07-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars pretty nice route

cool, slabby rp crack on first pitch. Bolts where you need them. Led 2nd and 4th pitches.

Added: 2010-08-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: retro67 on 2010-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Good intro

Took a first time outdoor climber on this one. Good choice. Belays are close enough to see and communicate. Climbing is easy and intuitive 5.7 maybe 5.8. First pitch is the best, follows small seam for interesting small placements. Much of the climb is contrived (like everything on the Hog you could climb pretty much anywhere) but still fun.

Added: 2010-07-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: orangeclimb09 on 2009-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars lovers leap

Climbed last spring. I miss lovers leap.

Added: 2010-05-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: trevzilla on 2009-09-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars It's Better With Bacon

Wow, this climb is a little longer than it looks from the ground. :) We combined pitches 1 & 2 with a 60 meter rope, and a lot of rope drag. We did pitch three and half of pitch 4 with our 60 meter. (It wouldn't quite reach to the 4th anchors, so I set up a belay in the middle) Then we topped out in a third pitch, and in the dark. I really enjoyed the climb but the bolts may be a little runout to those that are not confident at this grade. The crux is just above the third anchors and is protected with a bolt at your hip during the move. So it's pretty nice.

Added: 2009-09-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: evanwish on 2009-06-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Cool First Pitch!

Climbed it in a group of three, including a 5 year old girl who literally RAN up the first three pitches without so much of a pause on either pitch. Amazing!



Added: 2009-06-20

> >|

Record your own Ascent