Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: lieback (Immaculate White Book) - 5.5 Average Rating = 4.75/5 Average Rating : 4.75/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: kalen666 on 2012-12-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars NICE

Killer Climb, the crux was easy to pull but the scare factor of leading it makes it seem way harder.

Added: 2012-12-30

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: sclaussen on 2009-05-23 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Immaculate White Book Ascent

I just lead this route over the weekend and I thought it was a great route. However, I am a new leader and I did think that 5.5 was a little bit of a sandbagged rating - it's harder than that - so beware if you're a new leader. I made it fine, but it was challenging. I found that it took a lot of smaller (< BD#1) protection - and the anchor takes smaller protection as well - so rack accordingly. There are no bolts at the first belay station and it only supports two people at a time. The first pitch crux is 75% of the way through the pitch where the lieback crack disappears for 3 to 5 feet. I followed on the second pitch - it has a similar crux - that's more difficult than the first crux - where the lieback crack disappears for 5 feet or so. On the 2nd pitch we went straight up then left on the undercling and then up a crack to top out. One of my climbing partners who lead the 2nd pitch felt it was more difficult than pitch 2 - particularly placing pro while traversing the undercling. We were told we could walk off the right side - but it looked like dicey class 4 - so we decided to rappel. There are two relatively new rappel bolts/chains at the top of pitch 2 that get you down to another couple bolts/chains near the top of pitch 1. The granite quality here is excellent.

Added: 2009-05-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: kernvilleclimber on 2008-03-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great climb

Can't wait to learn to place gear so I can lead this myself. I thought it was a bit more difficult than 5.5 though.

Added: 2008-10-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: Kernclimber on 2008-04-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Lieback

Nice route. Climbed it solo(self belay), trad, single pitch. Best to rappel on the far left to avoid rope getting caught.

Added: 2008-04-23

Record your own Ascent