Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Great Arch - 5.5 popular Average Rating = 4.49/5 Average Rating : 4.49/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jasile on 2013-07-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun route

Easy friction slab climbing but long and a lot of fun. Great new bolts/rings at the right height ~35m apart. You need a 70m rope if you want to rap down on a single.

Added: 2013-07-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wkfegler on 2013-06-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars I loved it

Great fun leading this route, the 3rd pitch was a little wet to make it a little more interesting

Added: 2013-06-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: MonkeySpank on 2012-10-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Beautiful Fall Day

With the leaves changing color at this time of year, the Park was packed. We started out around 9:30 and beat the crowds, climbing with partner Evan. The views from the top were awesome, with sunny skies, no wind and temps in the 50s-60s. As it warmed up, ladybugs swarmed the South Face!

Added: 2012-10-21

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: chotoken on 2012-04-13 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars First Lead

My first lead. Not too bad for the the first time. Once I got past the first pitch it was all good. The nerves settled, and it was great!

Added: 2012-05-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: mountain_to_sea on 2012-02-20 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars great arch

back acke

Added: 2012-04-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2012-02-26 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Birthday Climb

I lead all pitches for my mother as a birthday present since this was the one climb that she had always wanted to do. I generally only climb this route when taking someone for the first time. I like to climb it with as little protection as possible. Other than slinging trees and using the belays, the only additional protection that I used was a single cam on pitch three where the crack becomes thinner.

Added: 2012-03-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: MonkeySpank on 2012-03-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Cold and windy day

Showed this one to a new climber friend today. One of NC's classics.

Added: 2012-03-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jsaunders on 2012-01-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars followed for a change

wetter than normal - spicy

Added: 2012-01-30

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jsaunders on 2011-12-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fun following

No comment

Added: 2011-12-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: jsaunders on 2011-10-30 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars great when dry

had led this one a bunch. thought that a wet p2 wouldn't affect me. it was running with pine needles everywhere. took a 15' or so fall rounding the top of the outcrop and left some skin up there. note to self, leave it alone when wet and pine needles...

Added: 2011-10-31

> >|

Record your own Ascent