Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Overhanging Hangover - 5.11b popular Average Rating = 4.06/5 Average Rating : 4.06/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: LunaClimbs on 2011-11-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Led it this time

better to lead it than to top rope

Added: 2011-11-29

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: LunaClimbs on 2011-10-30 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Can't wait to lead it

Big move for a little girl at the crux.

Added: 2011-11-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ShockSLL on 2012-05-06 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Classic!

Very fun route!

Added: 2011-09-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: csproul on 2011-02-27 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars i've done the

lower part before, but this was the 1st time I've led to the upper anchors. I place an orange tcu in the flake after the pins and the 1st bolt, before clipping the 2nd bolt. I clipped the 1st anchors with a long sling and then I placed a #1 Camalot on the upper horizontal before clipping the upper roof. I think 11b is being a little generous with this route...more like 10+ or maybe 11-.

Added: 2011-02-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: slauk on 2010-04-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars my favorite route at pilot mt hands down!!!

great route a must climb. if your not there yet just the crux move it self is worth the training to climb this one. when leading this route the first 2 petons are strong but old. after the first bolt you go through a fun crimpy section to a small ledge great rest. i place a size .75 or a 1 cam under the big flake before 2nd bolt. only down side of this climb is after the crux its only a 5.8 with big jugs.

Added: 2010-09-26

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: killingmorethancancer on 2010-06-20 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars One of the best

This is one of pilots best. Its a must do.... However dont ruin it for yourself by doing it TR, LEAD IT! a great lead well protected and you can clip the 3 bolt from undercling in the first roof with some stretching.

Added: 2010-07-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: csproul on 2010-06-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars I think...

...I've done this before, but I thought I'd log a clean TR. Have to lead it next time.

Added: 2010-06-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: sycamore on 2009-06-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Finally led it.

Use a purple or green camalot if you want to protect between the first and second bolts. I went ahead and clipped the first two pitons, but I wouldn't recommend falling on them. Most people toprope it, but it makes for a great lead.

Added: 2009-06-22

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: MikeSaint on 2009-03-18 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Fun

Fun climb. To bad my fat ass had to hang on it. Dunno why I bother to log this it was a top rope. Whatever. Haha.

Added: 2009-03-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating PG13
Red Point Red Point ascent by: forkliftdaddy on 2009-01-23 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Nice to know the beta

It went up pretty easily while hanging the draws -- always nice to return to a route and have that happen -- but then I turned around and had a much harder time on TR. Funny how that goes. Pins are nasty looking, and it is nice to have a piece of gear to protect clipping the 2nd bolt.

Added: 2009-01-28

> >|

Record your own Ascent