Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: surrealistic pillar direct - 5.10b Average Rating = 4.30/5 Average Rating : 4.30/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: critterdude542 on 2011-09-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars direct

takes great gear, sometimes it's a little far back in the crack. felt pretty hard for 10b. I'll say 10c. ran out the last piece and opted for the more direct line going straight for the anchor on dikes.

Added: 2011-09-12

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: aerili on 2010-09-19 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars 1 fall...so close to the redpoint...gack!

Decided to jump on this after over a year and try leading it. On top of the roof and 1 move away from getting my foot on the right big knob (i.e. the rest of all rests!), my hand slipped out of the crack and I fellllllllllllllllll...........

Added: 2010-09-20

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: cobbledik on 2010-08-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fun

interesting moves

Added: 2010-08-13

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: DanSimenc on 2010-06-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Cool

Excellent first pitch (to chains). Finishes with cool dike hike.

Added: 2010-07-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: multiades on 2009-10-26 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars surrealistic pillar direct

And the more direct variation that traverses up the hand crack and gains the bolted anchor from underneath -- both were fun.

Added: 2009-11-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tradrenn on 2009-09-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Superb.

Harder than it looked.

Added: 2009-09-14

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: evanwish on 2009-08-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars end of day

i ended up leading this thing at the end of the day and was wiped out by the second piece of pro. i at least made it up past the roof before falling... overall, a great route when you're not completely exausted!

Added: 2009-08-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: tahoe523 on 2009-07-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Looks easier from the ground

With all the dykes along the way, it was hard to imagine it being a 5.10b. Boy, I was wrong. Can't imagine leading this in my wildest dreams; to follow this route was tough enough. However, beautiful sustained climbing. The move before the traverse to the right (if you choose to go that way) was tricky, but the finishing crack was fantastic.

Added: 2009-07-13

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: A-Bowl on 2008-11-09 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Was talkin to my sister bout how to place gear...

before i knew it i was at the top. pretty good climb

Added: 2008-11-09

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: stevieplayland on 2008-11-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars wakes you up!

great climb, good gear. wonderful hand crack to finish!

Added: 2008-11-01

> >|

Record your own Ascent