Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Ballista - 5.10c Average Rating = 3.86/5 Average Rating : 3.86/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: stevecurtis on 2013-06-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun

The AO section on the seventh is probably doable at a reasonable grade. Some nice climbing, some dirt

Added: 2013-06-19

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: mindaa on 2010-07-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great day

Really enjoyed this route and appreciated the many bolts. As the book says, there is lots of loose rock and dirt at some of the belays.

Added: 2010-07-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c A0
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2009-06-28 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Ballista

Don't log in twice very often, nor climb the same route very often....but by getting the odd leads this time, I do think this is a better route than I gave it credit for the first time....huge difference between suffering through the even pitches or being on the sharp end for the odd pitches...met a young couple rappelling past us who filled me in on "The Early Worm", which looks like a spectacular new route...so worthwhile that I climbed Ballista again.

Added: 2009-06-29

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: lovesclimbing on 2008-09-20 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars ok

Nice route, nothing special, 18 draws let use climb it in 4 pitchs had a 70m rope

Added: 2008-09-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2008-07-04 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Ballista

Not overly memorable...just climbed it a few days ago, but the pitches don't stand out much. That 6th pitch was kind of fun, reminds me of the "chickenheads" we climb on in Red Rocks. Worth doing, just not at the top of my list. Felt nothing was cruxy. the hard moves are fine edges on slab. With Jackie C.

Added: 2008-07-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: Happywhale52 on 2008-05-30 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Ballista, Tunnel mountain

wow, hard sports multipitch! found hardest was 1st pitch for us, hard warming up with steep pumpy start of 10a. Crux 10c pitch is tecnical slab, with sensitive smear move, quite fun!! had so many loose rock, without them, can be great route. lots of different style of climb in one route, include hard slab (2nd, 4th, 8th), steep vertical section (1st, 4th, 7th), stemming, sidepull, and AO section!!(7th)

Added: 2008-05-31

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dropkicked on 2007-08-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Excellent.

Every lead feels like a new sport lead, the exposure almost a second thought with the quality of bolting found on this route. Every pitch is a different style of climbing from vertical jugs to balancy crimps on sharp limestone slab. Get on this route before everyone else does. It will be worth it.

Added: 2007-09-11

Record your own Ascent