Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Rusty Trifle - 5.5 Average Rating = 4.53/5 Average Rating : 4.53/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< < > >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: justinjohnsen on 2011-10-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars First trad lead

First pitch only.

Added: 2011-10-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Pennsy on 2011-09-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars good stuff

I liked the traverse but a little surprised at some of the thinness for 5.5. Good stuff though and the rest of the route is just fun 5.3 climbing. Geoff led p1, me p2, and Chad p3.

Added: 2011-09-18

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2011-09-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A great way to finish the day

I was so tired and this was just a nice jug haul to finish our day of climbing.

Added: 2011-09-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: gblauer on 2011-06-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Jessy's 4th and final lead for the day

She started on P2 and took us to the top. This is a great climb for a new leader. It's got route finding fun, great gear and easy peasy climbing.

Added: 2011-06-26

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2011-06-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Took Jenn up this climb to show her a new potential lead

Jen is learning to lead and P2/P3 are great for new leaders. 5.3 all the way, some interesting route finding and great fun.

I would not put a new leader on the traverse (P1).

Added: 2011-06-21

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: gblauer on 2011-03-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Followed Parker

We took turns leading this, the cliff was crowded, all the moderates were taken. We wanted an easy warm up.

Added: 2011-03-12

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2011-03-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars One of my first 2011 leads

It was supposed to be sunny and warm today...NOT. It was cool, cloudy and breezy. Still had fun on this climb.

Added: 2011-03-12

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: kimmyt on 2010-10-10 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Traverse at the first piton!

Led p.1 and p.3. Went too high for the traverse and ended up about 15 feet above the belay ledge on a scary loose block, but gear was good for an anchor. Definitely make a note to traverse at the first piton, the top traverse is scary (no feet and no gear unless you have a #4). I suck at routefinding.

Added: 2010-10-11

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2010-08-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Did p2 after finishing Trusty Rifle

Nice jug haul to the GT ledge. I only had 3 slings for the rest of the climb. I guess I ran it out because I finished at the ledge with 1 sling on my harness. Good thing it was easy and that I did not encounter any surprises (like the snake I grabbed on Bunny or the skink I grabbed on High E or the bees nest that I stuck my hand into on Dennis...)

Added: 2010-08-21

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2010-08-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Always fun and happy

This is a great climb. The traverse has great gear, gets thin, gets better, then it's over. P2/P3 can run together, although I had rope drag. It might be better to run p1 to the first pine tree and then belay. P3 pine tree has many woodpecker holes. Kind of scary.

Added: 2010-08-21

|< < > >|

Record your own Ascent