Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Crimposaurus's Logbook (10 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Routes: North America: United States: Washington: I-5 Corridor-North: Exit 38: Gritscone

A Girl's Best Friend Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Crimposaurus on 2006-09-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars The pocket problem

Real quality boulder problem to start, then just follow the rail. Short but fun.

Added: 2007-07-26

Routes: North America: United States: Washington: I-5 Corridor-North: Exit 38: Gritscone

Rough Cut Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Crimposaurus on 2007-07-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Crimpin in tha' woods

More like a V.4 highball, hard to put a 5. grade on this because of how short it is. Nonetheless a quality climb on good rock.

Added: 2007-07-26

Routes: North America: United States: Oregon: Smith Rock: 02. The Wooden Ships-The Gullies: Cocaine Gully

Chicken McNuggets *** Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Crimposaurus on 2007-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Delicious Route

Wow! I didn't know 5.10's could be this good! Semi-hard start leads to one of the best .10's I have ever climbed. Pockets, crimps, a pinch or two, and you have the recipe for a wonderfully long and fun route with a great view at the anchors. This is one of those routes that you simply must do every time you visit Smith.

Added: 2007-03-31

Routes: North America: United States: Oregon: Smith Rock: 07. Smith Rock Group: Northeast Face

Blackened Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: Crimposaurus on 2007-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Crackened

One of the first hard routes I have been able to flash at Smith over the two times I have been there. This route made my day and my trip. An easy start gives you a good rest and then boom, all of a sudden your climbing a bolted crack! The crack has some awesome liebacks and a couple of sustained moves but ultimately leads you to a great rest before busting out onto some face climbing with sharp positive pockets. The crux is pretty much the last move off of a shallow pocket to a huge jug. All of the people I have talked to say it is 5.11d, it felt a little easier than some of the .11d's I have been on at Smith but hey I'll take it! A great route that really mixes it up and keeps things interesting.

Added: 2007-03-31

Routes: North America: United States: Washington: I-5 Corridor-North: Exit 38: Nevermind Rock

Powerless Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Crimposaurus on 2007-03-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Powerful

One of the shorter routes on the wall. A fun start on good holds leads to a confusing crux, do you go left or right? Turns out you can go either way, but I found that high stepping and reaching up right was the best way for me. Overall a good route that actually stays dry most of the year, or at least it was dry when I was there and a lot of the other routes were wet. Another good warm up.

Added: 2007-03-31

Routes: North America: United States: Washington: I-5 Corridor-North: Exit 38: Nevermind Rock

Neverigine Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: Crimposaurus on 2007-03-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Never Again

Awesome route that traverses right and then cuts straight up over a ledge and onto the finishing bulge. I did this route when it was partially wet, or when the most important hold was wet, a pinch at the crux but it turns out you can do the move without it. In the end I would definitely do this route again, it had a fun traversing start on good holds and it was long enough to keep me entertained.

Added: 2007-03-31

Routes: North America: United States: Washington: I-5 Corridor-North: Exit 38: Nevermind Rock

Architect Rally Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Crimposaurus on 2006-09-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Building endurance

What a great route to build endurance and stamina on. Long and pumpy on huge holds leads to a great crux at the end that keeps you on your toes. This is the kind of route that you can train on to crush any project. It definitely taught me how to take advantage of good rests on big holds.

Added: 2007-03-31

Routes: North America: United States: Washington: I-5 Corridor-North: Exit 38: Nevermind Rock

Steep Street Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Crimposaurus on 2006-09-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Easy Street

This is such a good route if big somewhat thuggish moves are your forte. I enjoy it thoroughly as a warm up and a warm down considering how short it is. Nonetheless, one of the best routes on the wall due to the quality of the moves and the rock, the only reason it deserves a 5.11 is because of the steepness of the route and the beginning sequence can be a bit confusing. Great route overall, whether you project 5.11 or warm up on it.

Added: 2007-03-31

Routes: North America: United States: Washington: I-5 Corridor-North: Exit 38: Nevermind Rock

Culture Shock Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.12a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: Crimposaurus on 2007-03-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Culture Shocked

I first tried this route at the end of september in '06 and rested quite a bit past the first crux. After that this route has been on my mind ever since and I jumped at the chance to get back on it when I made my first trip of the year to Exit 38. The wall was pretty wet but I had to give it a shot and after my first try and a 15 minute rest I got phsyched and pushed to the top for the redpoint. This is one of the best routes on this wall, in my opinion, with great crux moves on positive crimpers, and awesome jug hauling up an intimidating, overhanging wall of high quality rock.

Added: 2007-03-31

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Cedar City: The Cetacean Wall: Graveside Matter area

THE ADVENTURE CLIMB 5.8+++ Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Crimposaurus on 2007-03-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars First Time Adventurer

What an aesthetic line! I loved the crux and how it made you look over the other side of the arrette in terror. One hard move off a crimp and then your home free. Good job on the bolting as well.

Added: 2007-03-03