Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

DocGF's Logbook (17 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Boulder Area: Eldorado Canyon: The Bastille

Bastille Crack popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: DocGF on 1990-04-19 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Eldorado Canyon

Great Climb.

Added: 2011-08-07

Routes: North America: United States: California: Riverside County: Suicide Rock: Weeping Wall

Surprise Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: DocGF on 1991-07-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun climb

P1) Start in the middle of the wall and climb a short right-facing corner system which protects well (thin pro), then continue up and left on unprotected but very easy face (5.0) to a bolt anchor. P2) Up and right along a ramp/flake system to reach a bolt (5.8) and then into an right-facing corner atop which is a bolted belay. P3) Up a crack which turns into a flared chimney. Belay from gear at the top and descend via Bye Gully.




Added: 2011-08-03

Routes: North America: United States: California: Riverside County: Tahquitz Rock: Northwest Recess

Sahara Terror (5p 5.7) popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: DocGF on 1991-06-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Tahquitz Rock with an Army Ranger

I alternated leads on this climb with a Ft Irwin enlisted soldier (Roger Moore). We followed an E-7 Ranger (Mark Stout) and a 2nd Lietenant (who's name I can't recall) up the route. It was my first time at Tahquitz. I remember turning the main crux of the climb on lead and clipping an old rusty piton which I didn't trust. I backed it up with a stopper. There were no bolts on the route, although I did see old rusty pitons in a couple of places.

Added: 2011-08-03

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Looking Glass Rock: Nose Area

The Nose popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.1
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: DocGF on 2008-03-30 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Pitch 1 of The Nose Route, Looking Glass Rock.

Pitch 1: 5.5, 110ft. Straight up slabs to a bolted belay ledge. Beautiful day top roping with the family. Had the entire Nose Area to ourselves.


Added: 2011-08-03

Routes: North America: United States: Georgia: Georgia North: Mount Yonah: The Lowers

Lowers 4 Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: DocGF on 2011-06-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Welcome back, Doc

My first lead after 20 years in hibernation; not too much climable rock in Hawaii or near Savannah, GA. It looks like Columbia isn't too far from the good stuff in North GA and NC.

Added: 2011-08-01

Routes: North America: United States: California: Bishop and Eastern Sierra

Mount Whitney, East Buttress Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: DocGF on 1990-06-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Mount Whitney East Buttress, second time around

Climb is even better the second time around. Less time spent route finding.


Added: 2011-08-01

Routes: North America: United States: California: Bishop and Eastern Sierra: Mt. Whitney: Mt. Whitney

East Buttress popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: DocGF on 1988-07-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Solo Ascent of Mount Whitney, East Buttress Route

Approach is the trail to Iceberg Lake from Whitney Portal. Equipment needed: Tent, Sleeping Bag, Large Pack, Day pack, Food / Water purification kit; Standard Climbing Rack; Hiking boots; Rock climbing Shoes; and warm clothing (it gets cold at this Altitude). I would allow at least 1-2 days for the approach/acclimatization; 1 day for the climb and descent; and 1 day to hike back out. You can camp at Whitney Portal (9000+Ft), at the end of the paved road, on the way in; or you can hike in to Boyscout Lake, or all the way to Iceberg Lake (13,500'), on Day 1. Boyscout lake is much nicer, but you still have a couple of hours left on the approach to the base of the East Buttress, just above Iceberg Lake. The summit is approx 14,500'); approximately 10 pitches, a fair amount of which is class 4. There are some exposed areas with upper level class 5 (around 5.6-5.8), but nothing exceedingly difficult. I roped up for these, climbed them on lead using an ascender to belay myself, rappelled down, then climbed the pitch again, retrieving my protection. I carry a double 8.5 mm 60 meter rope system which allows pitches and rapels of >160 feet. There are a number of route variations on the way up, some a bit easier than others. I was the only one on the East Buttress this day, although I did see a group of three on the Mountaineers Route. They were camped at Iceberg and were just getting up as I was arriving from my base camp at Boyscout Lake. Keep in mind, If you try to do the approach and the route too fast, without acclimatizing, you may very well have a first hand experience with Acute Mountain Sickness (headache, nausea, vomiting, and general malaise). Take your time, and spend a few nights camping and enjoying your surroundings. The overall experience will be much more enjoyable.



Added: 2011-08-01

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Frankenstein Cliff: Standard Route Area

Frankenstein's Ledge Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty WI2
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: DocGF on 1984-12-28 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Ice Climbing in the White Mountains.

An easy Ice Climb with ledges, next to the railroad tracks.

Added: 2011-08-01

Routes: North America: United States: Maryland: Central Md.: Carderock: Jungle Cliffs

Sterling Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: DocGF on 1986-04-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Toproping at Carderock

Fun little climb. Great area to practice and learn technique.

Added: 2011-07-31

Routes: North America: United States: Maryland: Central Md.: Carderock: Jungle Cliffs

Meenehan's Staircase Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: DocGF on 1985-10-14 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Carderock free solo

Good practice area

Added: 2011-07-31

> >|