Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

JRBarnett's Logbook (41 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (7)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Real Hidden Valley: Sentinel Rock

Illusion Dweller popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: JRBarnett on 2009-07-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Definitely not a good summer climb

I knew it would be harder going into it being the middle of July but the heat made it a little harder than I anticipated. It was still a really fun climb, all the holds are there. The roof crux is committing and pretty scary with only slopers over the top.

Someone previously said you can rap with a 60m rope. You cannot, you'll be about 15 ft short. I had to walk off the back.

Added: 2009-07-18

Routes: North America: United States: California: Western Sierra: Grotto, The - Table Mountain: Lower Main Wall

Bandito Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: JRBarnett on 2009-07-14 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars good route

Super fun, moderate route. Lots of variations. Rock is a little slick due to high traffic but I think the 5.8 rating still applies.

Added: 2009-07-14

Routes: North America: United States: California: Western Sierra: Grotto, The - Table Mountain: Lower Main Wall

Three Fingered Jack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: JRBarnett on 2009-07-13 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Note

Super fun route. Good gear.

Added: 2009-07-14

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Echo Tee: Echo Cove

Ben Dover Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: JRBarnett on 2008-12-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Note

Another fun sport route. Not quite as fun as it's neighbor to the right, but still worth a visit.

Added: 2009-07-02

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Echo Tee: Echo Cove

Eileen Dover Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: JRBarnett on 2008-12-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Note

Probably my favotire sport route in the park. Really fun moves.

Added: 2009-07-02

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Hidden Valley Campground: Intersection Rock

North Overhang popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: JRBarnett on 2009-07-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Note

Fun climb. Moving around the overhand into the crack was pretty pumpy for me, but it was super fun.

Added: 2009-07-01

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Barker Dam: Gunsmoke Area

High Noon Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V5
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: JRBarnett on 2009-05-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Finally

I don't even know how many times I attempted this route. Great fun though.

Added: 2009-07-01

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: JBMF Area: JBMF Boulder

JBMFP Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V5
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: JRBarnett on 2009-02-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars JBMFP

A little painful on the toes

Added: 2009-07-01

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Asteroid Belt: Manx Boulders

Thingamajig Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V0
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: JRBarnett on 2008-08-08 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Note

Fairly high, scary mantle for the top out

Added: 2009-06-22

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Asteroid Belt: Manx Boulders

The Boxer Problem Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V2
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: JRBarnett on 2008-11-09 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Note

Cracked my heel missing the crash pad on my first ascent. Came back 3 months later. Fun problem. a lot easier than it looks, you just have to get on it and play around. definite height advantage

Added: 2009-06-22

> >|