Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

TheGustav's Logbook (37 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (1)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Castlewood Canyon: Grocery Store Wall

Teething Biscuit Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Scenery
Onsight Onsight ascent by: TheGustav on 2009-05-06 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars nice moves

the pretty crack is just too short but overall the route has some fun moves.

Added: 2009-05-06

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Castlewood Canyon: Grocery Store Wall

Licorice Stick Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: TheGustav on 2009-05-06 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Fun climb

Always feels wet inside even when its not, just that smooth. I liked it but i also topped it cause I didn't have my gear on me.



Added: 2009-05-06

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Southern Colorado: Shelf Road: Sand Gulch - Contest Wall

Dune Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: TheGustav on 2009-05-01 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars interesting route

When I climbed this I felt like I was wondering all over the rock, but the moves were good and the holds solid. I didn't like the spot right before the anchors. Unless I grabbed the chains ( i try not to) I couldnt really find a good spot to clip the anchors, the holds just kind of died just out of reach. Also HIGH start, like they said its not that hard to climb up to it, but damn is it up there.

Added: 2009-05-06

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Southern Colorado: Shelf Road: Sand Gulch - Contest Wall

The Opportunist Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: TheGustav on 2009-05-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars A good opportunity

Fun route with a few good moves. Worth the climb

Added: 2009-05-06

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Southern Colorado: Shelf Road: Cactus Cliffs

Raven Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: TheGustav on 2009-04-17 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Caw Caw

The raven is one of the best (and only i guess) routes Ive climbed at Shelf, and man i loved it. Kinda tricky getting off the deck but once your up there some sweet laybacks and good climbing

Added: 2009-04-23

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Southern Colorado: Shelf Road: Cactus Cliffs

La Cholla Jackson Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: TheGustav on 2009-04-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Jackson can Dance

Even though its not that jackson great feet and fun times on this easier route. I always do this one to get back into the feel of shelf, dang sandstone throws me off from the nice limestone at shelf.

Added: 2009-04-23

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Garden of the Gods: West Side of North Gateway

Anaconda Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: TheGustav on 2009-04-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars The Snake

After several attempts I finally finished my first complete lead of this route. I did fall a few times, but now Ive got the moves down so next time its all in one go. Its such a beautiful route I will climb it again and again for sure.

Added: 2009-04-03

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Garden of the Gods: Red Twin Spire

Potholes Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: TheGustav on 2009-03-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Yay potholes!

Fun slightly off balancy moves, with great hands and feet. And of course you get to show off the half the worlds population of tourists.

Added: 2009-03-16

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Garden of the Gods: West Side of South Gateway

West Point Crack popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: TheGustav on 2009-03-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars chimmney fun

A fun climb, but the first pitch is just juggy... love the second pitch though, get your butt in that chimmney with lots of big old holds and you just jam yourself in there. Didn't do third pitch though, short and I dislike walking off in my climbing shoes. IF YOU RAPELL OF THE SECOND PITCH MAKE SURE TO GO OFF THE BACKSIDE. YOU CANNOT RETREIEVE YOUR ROPE FROM THE FRONT SIDE! There is simply to much friction to get your rope back. You also need 2 ropes to get back to the ground, or be willing to do some easy downclimbing.

Added: 2009-03-16

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Red Rock Canyon: Ripple Wall

Snubnose Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: TheGustav on 2009-03-08 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars short but challenging

gets very thin in the middle and is very short. not a bad climb but there are plenty better out there.

Added: 2009-03-08

> >|