Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

agalwholikesclimbs's Logbook (20 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Phoenix Area: Queen Creek Canyon: Apache Leap

Broken Arrow Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: agalwholikesclimbs on 2010-01-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Nice long route.

This route is very fun, and also long. A must do in a beautiful area-do it before it's too late.

Added: 2010-01-19

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Paradise Forks: Sine Wall

Born Under a Bad Sine Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: agalwholikesclimbs on 2009-08-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars an everything route.

This is great-thin/balance/stemming with good pro, then perfect jams to finish up on. So a lot of variance. You can use a wide array of sizes (as I discovered).

Added: 2009-08-20

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Paradise Forks: Pillow wall

Pillow Talk Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: agalwholikesclimbs on 2009-08-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Got it!

I like this one. At first I thought it was wide, but going far back in the crack is the key.

Added: 2009-08-20

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Paradise Forks: Pillow wall

Crack a Pogo Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: agalwholikesclimbs on 2009-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars great jams at the top

I love this one. After a few semi tenuous moves, you get the best jams. It gets a little wide at the top-I used a 3, but maybe not necessary?

Added: 2009-08-12

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Paradise Forks: The Prow

Fools Game Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: agalwholikesclimbs on 2009-06-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Sweet!

I liked this, it's awesome, way better than Mayflower! Thin hands at the beginning, then a bouldery move off the pillar (or a stretch for short peeps), jamming, subtle in-cuts for some face features at times, yah.

PS. just clicked on the photo, that's me a couple of years ago trying it 4 the 1st time on TR & I thought there would be no way I could lead this thing!

Added: 2009-06-08

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Central: Oak Creek Over Look: 4. Orange Out Sector

Mornings Mourning Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: agalwholikesclimbs on 2009-06-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Loved it!

This is an awesome lead, takes great gear, a little thin towards the top, but a small nut will do the job at that point. I loved the jams, freakin' loved it!

Added: 2009-06-04

Routes: North America: United States: Nevada: Red Rock Canyon: First Creek Canyon: First Creek Slabs

Hot Flash Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: agalwholikesclimbs on 2009-05-22 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars 1,280 ft.

Did this over Memorial Day Weekend, had sun all day. Good climbing. Nobody was out there. A lot of run-out: careful on P4, about 60ft of run-out (on 5.6-ish terrain). I really liked P1, 2, 3, & 6. It's a long day, you'll sleep good after this one, 1,280 ft. of climbing. I think it's a good one to build endurance, and fun! Luckily we knew the descent from Lady Luck, that was very helpful because could have been a bit of a hassle otherwise.

Added: 2009-05-25

Routes: North America: United States: Nevada: Red Rock Canyon: Juniper Canyon: Cloud Tower

Crimson Chrysalis popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: agalwholikesclimbs on 2009-05-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars red rocks memorial day weekend

While people were getting rained out elsewhere, being on Crimson Chrysalis over Memorial Day weekend was a great treat. People think it's too hot at RR during this time, but not the case for this climb/much less crowds. Very fun, sustained 5.8, bring gear, don't be afraid of the run-out, it's all there.

Added: 2009-05-25

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Southern: Cochise Stronghold: Sheepshead

Peacemaker popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: agalwholikesclimbs on 2009-03-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Slabanistas

Cool Route (though a touch hot at the top). FUN. Swapped leads with Jodie, Donna joined us as well. The ladies had it together for this route which is insistently slabby and 10. We brought some gear, and it can be used. Don't do overkill, we went with an assortment of a few small cams up to .75, and one link cam (since that is 3 cams in one & it was utilized). The beginning of the 5th pitch, I was too far to the right and the slabby bolt line was glistening in the sun & looked sooo slippy, so decided to just pro the crack above me to the roof, then rejoined the bolt line. I personally loved this little variation after all that slab (other than that, no other spots for variation). All went well for us-Jodie did AWESOME on pitches 2/4/6.

Added: 2009-03-02

Routes: North America: United States: Nevada: Red Rock Canyon: Juniper Canyon: Brownstone Wall

The Nightcrawler Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: agalwholikesclimbs on 2008-11-16 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars Don't think so

Hmmmm, I disliked this route. ...and it's not even the smooth flare chimney that did it.
Thought P2 was a 5.10a, and P3 a 5.11-, IMHO.

Good job to Lou the leader. Maybe after the memories of this experience have had much time to fade (including the long-ass approach), I will try again and hope for better results. Good luck on it.

Added: 2008-11-16

> >|