Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

amberlbarlow's Logbook (31 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (4)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Salt Lake - Utah Counties: American Fork Canyon: Hard Rock - Juggernaut Alcove

Suicide Blonde *** Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: amberlbarlow on 2009-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Tough!

Wow! This is one tough route, especially when compared to Eight to Eleven's second pitch. (Granted, I'm kinda weak-sauce and my forearms aren't as strong as I'd like...). It's a fun climb though for sure. I'm going to have to go back and do it again. Hangdogging just doesn't do it justice.

Added: 2009-08-02

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Salt Lake - Utah Counties: American Fork Canyon: Little Mill - Division Wall

Teenagers In Heat Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: amberlbarlow on 2009-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Scary crux

In my opinion this route is scarier than its around-the-corner, 11b neighbor Remote Control. Things are fine and dandy until you get up to the (obvious) crux, where the rock is super-slabby and the holds seem to vanish ;) 'Twas fun though, as are most climbs.

Added: 2009-08-02

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Salt Lake - Utah Counties: American Fork Canyon: Little Mill - Division Wall

Remote Control Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: amberlbarlow on 2009-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Freakin' fun!

Super fun, pumpy route. Honestly, I thought it was pretty easy, although I did take awhile to figure out the beta for the last fifteen feet or so (once I figured it out though, it seemed blatantly obvious- a few side pulls and you're good to go). I definitely recommend this climb.

Added: 2009-08-02

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Salt Lake - Utah Counties: American Fork Canyon: Little Mill - Division Wall

Litmus Test Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: amberlbarlow on 2009-07-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars on toprope =P

Did this on toprope. I'm gonna have to go back and lead it sometime. Tough roof!

Added: 2009-07-20

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Salt Lake - Utah Counties: American Fork Canyon: Hard Rock - South Face

Eight To Eleven** Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: amberlbarlow on 2009-07-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars first 11b

first time doing the second pitch on this route. It was fun! Lots of nice pockets at the beginning, with decent crimps to finish up on. I'd say it was easy for an 11b though.

Added: 2009-07-20

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Salt Lake - Utah Counties: American Fork Canyon: The Membrane

Steel Monkeys Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: amberlbarlow on 2009-07-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars first 10d!

Amazing climb. It's obviously well traveled- some of the holds are pretty greasy, but it is still one of my favorites thus far. LOVED some of the moves on this climb. Seriously, I cannot express how fun of a route this is. Try it.

Added: 2009-07-14

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Salt Lake - Utah Counties: American Fork Canyon: The Hideaway - Maritime Area

Serpentine Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: amberlbarlow on 2009-06-30 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Long hike

after a fairly long ascent, we climbed serpentine. Kinda fun, but nothing too outstanding. At the top a handhold broke off, but I was on TR so it didn't fase me much. I would've liked to have done more climbs up there but we weren't very prepared (too little water and too little shade). Oh well, next time.

Added: 2009-07-14

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Salt Lake - Utah Counties: American Fork Canyon: The Membrane

Caress of Steel Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: amberlbarlow on 2009-07-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars description fits it perfectly

way fun route. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for an all-around, enjoyable climb. Gonna have to go back and do it again sometime.

Added: 2009-07-09

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Salt Lake - Utah Counties: American Fork Canyon: Hard Rock - Escape Buttress

Denied Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: amberlbarlow on 2009-07-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars woot

so, it being a month later, I tried "Denied" again, and guess what.... it was pretty easy =)
those "sketchy smears" I refered to? Not sketchy at all to me anymore. And getting from bolts 1 to 4? Piece of cake.
Woot.

Added: 2009-07-09

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Salt Lake - Utah Counties: American Fork Canyon: Necromancer

Harder-Faster Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: amberlbarlow on 2009-07-08 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars looks are deceiving

got up it, but it was definitely harder than it looks. Well, not necesarily harder, just a little more technical.

Added: 2009-07-09

> >|