Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

benjaminmatthews's Logbook (11 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (8)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): Roadside Crag

All Cows Eat Grass*** Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: benjaminmatthews on 2009-06-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Loved it

Very fun, took a long fall from the top the first time because I didn't do it right, climbed back up and got it right the second time. Great climb, would love to return.

Added: 2013-04-29

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Red Rock Canyon: Whale's Tail

Jason's Argonaut Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: benjaminmatthews on 2012-06-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Still working on this one

There is really just one 5.10 move on this climb, I find it a little difficult. I'm 5'6" so I often feel that my problem is simply an issue of reach, maybe I haven't got the move figured out. I've climbed it now about four times and can now make it without falling, but my technique still feels a little rough. I love this wall, it's a good place for me to keep practicing

Added: 2013-04-29

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Red Rock Canyon: Whale's Tail

The Rose Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: benjaminmatthews on 2012-06-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Warmup

Good warmup for Whale's Tail, relatively simple scramble but requires more thought than a typical 5.7.

Added: 2013-04-29

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Red Rock Canyon: Whale's Tail

Pockets a Plenty Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: benjaminmatthews on 2012-06-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Good 5.9

I liked this route, nice challenge for a 5.9. This is a good wall, I recommend all climbs on this wall.

Added: 2013-04-29

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Red Rock Canyon: Ripple Wall

Wake to Wake Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: benjaminmatthews on 2013-04-28 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Really Fun

I loved this route, it's a little different from most of the typical routes in Red Rocks. My book calls it a 5.8 and that felt very appropriate. Awesome veins in the rock. Very rewarding for a 5.8. Highly recommend this route.

Added: 2013-04-28

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Red Rock Canyon: The Whale

The Plunge Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: benjaminmatthews on 2013-04-28 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Fun & Challenging

I felt this route was a solid 5.10a. Like many of the other climbs on The Whale it feels short, but the crux is interesting and holds are small with a lot of slab character. Keep your fingernails short for this one.

Added: 2013-04-28

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Red Rock Canyon: The Whale

The Thin Line Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: benjaminmatthews on 2013-04-27 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Fun but short

Great climb, but after the third bolt, the pitch almost completely levels out and you just walk to the remaining bolts and anchors. It is worth it though just for first part of the climb, very fun and quick.

Added: 2013-04-28

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Red Rock Canyon: The Whale

Bound in Blood Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: benjaminmatthews on 2013-04-28 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars meh

Definitely not a 5.10a. The book I have: "Rock Climbing Colorado" (it's a falcon guide by Stewart Green) places this at 5.8, and I felt like that was a little generous. Overall I felt like this route was very unrewarding. If you're in Red Rocks and want a good 5.8, go over to Ripple Wall and try Wake to Wake.

Added: 2013-04-28

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Red Rock Canyon: Solar Slab

Isis Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: benjaminmatthews on 2012-03-31 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Isis

Loved this route! It made me think. The third bolt is missing, but I wouldn't consider it a major safety hazard.

Added: 2012-03-31

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Front Range: Red Rock Canyon: Solar Slab

Helios Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: benjaminmatthews on 2012-03-30 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Quick

Short climb, still fun though. (definitely not a 5.8 as this site suggests, more like a 5.7)

Added: 2012-03-31

> >|