Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

bighigaz's Logbook (45 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Southern: Mt. Lemmon: Matterhorn

Standard Route Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: bighigaz on 2006-05-13 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Climbed this route several times to give friends a simple 2 pitch experience. Definitely 5.fun. 2nd pitch is almost trivial, probably 5.2, but good for a confident leader to practice running it out! The belay up top is creative, both trees are now loose, so DON'T use them for a belay. Get creative with the rock, you'll find something.

Witnessed by: Morris, Seth, Justin...
Added: 2006-05-13

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Jacks Canyon: Main Wall

Power Trip Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: bighigaz on 2004-01-05 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Yet another hang-dog, but I finished the pump fest with Aaron screaming at me like a drill sargent!

Witnessed by: Aaron, Mark, Steph
Added: 2004-01-05

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Southern: Mt. Lemmon: Druid

In Lightning Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: bighigaz on 2004-01-05 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Long first pitch, but fun to start on "Admiral" then traverse left to join "In Lightning" making 3 interesting pitches of 2...

Witnessed by: Mark and Steve
Added: 2004-01-05

Routes:

Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: bighigaz on 2003-05-31 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Amazing! Get on it!

Witnessed by: Seth Wilson, Scott Ayers
Added: 2003-05-31

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Southern: Cochise Stronghold: Muttonhead a.k.a Middle Sister

Mystery of the Desert Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: bighigaz on 2003-05-05 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Followed Scott up this fantastic route, sometime in May I think, while working on a new face/slab route to the left... Classic Stuff!!!

Witnessed by: Scott Ayers
Added: 2003-05-05

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Southern: Cochise Stronghold: Muttonhead a.k.a Middle Sister

The Inevitable Awaits You Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: bighigaz on 2003-05-05 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Absolutely fantastic. 3 stars all the way up!

Witnessed by: Seth
Added: 2003-05-05

Routes:

Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: bighigaz on 2003-04-19 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

This area is going to be awesome!

Witnessed by: Seth Wilson, Mark Higginson, Stephanie Robinson
Added: 2003-04-19

Routes:

Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Flash Flash ascent by: bighigaz on 2003-04-19 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

It wasn't long before we all nailed this problem, but it definately messed with our heads a bit.

Witnessed by: Seth Wilson, Mark Higginson, Stephanie Robinson
Added: 2003-04-19

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Southern: Cochise Stronghold: Sheepshead

Absinthe of Mallet popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: bighigaz on 2003-02-17 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

This was a fantastic route. Fletcher lead all but the first pitch, so thanks to him I was just climbing. We took the new finish up 300+ feet of slabs after breaking out right below the final chimney. What an amazing beautiful climb!

Witnessed by: Fletcher (Rope gun)
Added: 2003-02-17

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Southern: Elephant Head: West Side

West Gulley Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: bighigaz on 2002-12-21 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

What an epic adventure. We decided to do it at about 11:30am, after rummaging for potential sport/trad routes. We had very little food and water, but a lot of ambition and drive. We topped out right at dark, and made it back to the car about two hours later. We arrived home 3 hours late to find the police at my parents home, and Air Search and Rescue already looking for us. Topping out with my little brother, when all our fears of the seriousness of our situation had subsided, was the best feeling I have every had on any mountain. If you're going to climb it, be prepared, and get an early start!!!!

PS, technically it's the SOUTH side, but it will always be The West Gully.

My summit log on www.summitpost.com reads:
Wow, what an adventure. Our intention in the morning was not to do a significant amount of climbing, but rather scout out an area for new sport routes on a beautifull wall IN the West Gully... The day turned out much different, as the Gully was too inviting. We only got to the rock at 11:30, and suddenly decided we would climb it. 1000 feet. What the heck were we thinking. We brought our headlamps, (just in case), ate a bag of dry Top Ramen, and took a gallon of water. 6 hours later, after some fun scrambling, and climbing up to 5.8 on marginal pro and loose rock (we got of route on one occasion), we arrived at the summit! Before we left the summit it was dark, and the 2 hours of backcountry scrambling was enough to make me not want to go back... but I probably will! The next time, however, we will take a little more food, and leave quite a bit earlier! 8hrs and 15min car to car... and air and ground search and rescue out looking for two lost climbers!!!! (My parents were a little worried.) Somehow we managed to climb safely, and make it back, extremely hungy and sooooo tired.
Climb On!!!!!

Witnessed by: Mark Higginson
Added: 2002-12-21

> >|