Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

bmyers427's Logbook (14 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Adirondack park: Poke-O-Moonshine: Main Face

Gamesmanship popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: bmyers427 on 2012-08-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Dang

I've been waiting to do this for a while now and finally got someone to go. I wanted to lead the first pitch because that's around my limit for leading, but it was very hot and it was more sustained than I was ready for. Ended up letting my friend go up. Spectacular route though. All of the other pitches are easy with as good of pro as you'd need, with the exception of pitch 4 which is also quite sustained. A must do climb that has earned its reputation.

Added: 2012-08-07

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Central: Little Falls: The Dihedrals

The Devil Won't Care Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: bmyers427 on 2012-06-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Sick Lead

I did this on TR last fall when it was a bit wet and it was good, but not as fun as I expected. I managed to not get kicked out today and got it on trad and it was a spectacular climb. Some tricky gear if you don't have a good selection of larger pro (up to 3 inches). The first crux being the hand crack was superb and a bit odd getting up to the ledge. The mental crux was definitely coming around the roof. Didn't get it clean so I took a rest and then went for it again. Great exposure pulling those moves. Trains make it a bit hard to communicate, but that's part of the thrill.

Added: 2012-06-01

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Adirondack park: Keene Valley: Chapel Pond Slab

Regular Route popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: bmyers427 on 2012-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great First Long Route

I had little experience with multipitch before doing this and it made it that much more exciting. Definitely bring the book and don't get too lost. It ended up being a bit of a hassle on a few occasions and led to some 5.7-5.8 climbing, but I think that added to it. almost all the pitches should have a safety rating of PG, but runout is never in places of worry. not many places to bail so it's not the best if the weather is questionable. If there is a good descent option, we didn't find it. It was pretty sketchy in the dark.

Added: 2012-05-26

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): Solar Collector

Super Pinch Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: bmyers427 on 2012-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars a very good climb

this climb gets easier the higher up you get. no definitive crux, but up until the second bolt is tougher. very sharp rock is great for gripping. bad for skin. also, the first bolt was high enough to send me searching for a stick.

Added: 2012-03-24

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): Long Wall

Rock Wars 5.9+ (10a) popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: bmyers427 on 2012-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Favorite in the Red

a phenomenal, sustained finger crack that brings the variety to those bored of pockets. wouldn't be too hard if you didn't have to place or clean gear, but i would say it deserves a higher grade. maybe that's just my poor crack technique talking.

Added: 2012-03-24

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): Long Wall

Autumn 5.9- popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: bmyers427 on 2012-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars cool moves

This route was one of the best that i did down there. it's fairly easy for most of the route with a unique crux. there seemed to be no right or wrong way to do it.

Added: 2012-03-24

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): Military Wall

Fuzzy Undercling popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: bmyers427 on 2012-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fantastic

spectacular route. tricky start and then it's just pulling for dear life on some great holds to the top. great route for those of us that can't get the 12's next to it.

Added: 2012-03-24

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Central: Little Falls: The Dihedrals

The Devil Won't Care Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: bmyers427 on 2011-11-25 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars One of the best

It looks cool and it's even more fun to climb. Not too hard, but takes some awkward moves when it's wet, which it was when I climbed it. I can't wait to lead it when it's dry.

Added: 2011-11-25

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Adirondack park: Barkeater Cliffs

ASPCA Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: bmyers427 on 2011-09-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Unique Climb

This climb is very interesting. It has an interesting traverse, some overhang and some good friction climbing at the top. All in all a great route.

Added: 2011-09-18

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Adirondack park: Barkeater Cliffs

Eat Yourself a Pie Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: bmyers427 on 2011-09-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Stunning Route

The crux was very interesting and can be done many ways, most of which are awkward. From the crux to the end is some of the best climbing in the area.

Added: 2011-09-18

> >|