Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

brri2000's Logbook (14 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Western Sierra: Grotto, The - Table Mountain: Upper Grotto Wall

Chicken Ranch Bingo Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: brri2000 on 2008-06-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Cool

Starts with a slight traverse then zig zags up the face on jugs to the chains.

Added: 2008-06-04

Routes: North America: United States: California: Western Sierra: Grotto, The - Table Mountain: Lower Main Wall

AC Devil Dog Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: brri2000 on 2008-06-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Hug the fridge

Climbing this column was really fun. Easier as you go up.

Added: 2008-06-04

Routes: North America: United States: California: Western Sierra: Grotto, The - Table Mountain: Lower Main Wall

Bandito Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: brri2000 on 2008-06-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars You'll need a couple large cams up above.

Cool crack climb. You can set the toprope up top for your non-traddy friends.

Added: 2008-06-04

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Sugarloaf: West Face

Pony Express popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: brri2000 on 2008-02-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars 1st pitch awesome, 2nd pitch turns to scramble

I led the route yesterday. The 1st pitch is very, very good. The 2nd pitch has a difficult offwidth on first appearance. It just takes some close study of how to send through it, but once you figure it out, you'll realize it's not that tough. Just place a large cam up high for protection. After the 2nd pitch crux, it turns into a 3rd class scramble...no belay bolts but a nice ledge to build a natural anchor (sling a pointy rock). Don't scramble up too high or you'll create too much rope drag when belaying your partner. After that, scramble to the top and navigate down the back side. I'm sure you can probably search out some rappel bolts somewhere but we didn't try. We had one full rack between me and my partner. I used the full range of cams/nuts from .5 to 3.5.

Added: 2008-02-18

Routes: North America: United States: Hawaii: Maui - No Ka Oi: Black Rock: Black Rock

Fish Dirt Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V0
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: brri2000 on 2007-11-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Maui's offering to the wannabe deep water soloists like me

This is a very simple climb but very, very fun if you factor in all the rewards. Let me explain. First you swim out to the face through one of the best snorkeling spots on the island. When your deep enough, slip on your rock shoes. Bring some goggles to spot the sea turtles and fish on the way to the face. Then grab on and climb up. It's about 20 feet maybe of V0-V1 climbing. Some very slightly overhung spots. You can make it harder for yourself by skipping the obvious holds. You will have an audience by the way because it's such a popular snorkle destination and the Sheraton hotel guests will be tanning on the beach. Then when you get to the top, you look down and make sure turtles are travelling underneath you...then you jump....yeahhhhhhh....SPLASH. Total fun. And some times its just fun to climb half way up and "slip off" on purpose. The only sure bet of climbing on the island. I found a couple other hidden boulders but this one is the easiest to approach. Park at the Whaler's Cove shopping center (between the Sheraton and the Westin hotels) in Ka'anapali and walk the beach path to the rock.

Added: 2007-11-29

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Cragmont Park: Cragmont Rock

Farewell to Arms popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: brri2000 on 2007-08-01 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Really liked the feel of this rock.

Great climb.

Added: 2007-08-02

Routes: North America: United States: California: Sacramento Area: Nut Tree Boulders: Hillcrest Boulders

"Gimme My Forty Sucka" Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V1
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: brri2000 on 2007-07-31 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun reaches up the seam

Great boulder route with a flat landing if you need to bail...but not too hard of a route. It's just the mental thing if you lose focus at the top and start thinking about falling. After you do it once, I guarantee you can do quick laps on it after that. Quite a hike to get there, but beautiful landscape.

Added: 2007-08-01

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Mt. Diablo: Pine Canyon - Miller Pillar

Right Cheek Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: brri2000 on 2007-07-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars How the cookie crumbles

Very crumbly face. The difficulty comes all from the rock quality. If this had been granite, it would be so much easier. But it's good to visit new types of rock and this was pretty fun. I ended up toproping this route so it was a bit easier for me. I'll do it as sport next time.

Added: 2007-07-26

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Mt. Diablo: Pine Canyon - Miller Pillar

Dingleberry crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: brri2000 on 2007-07-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars There's some pidgeons in there

This was a good long climb. Took the pro well. About 1/3 of the way up you go right of a big lodged boulder -- tucked inside of it was a pidgeon roost with a couple nervous birds watching me climb. Interesting.

Added: 2007-07-26

Routes: North America: United States: California: Western Sierra: Calaveras Dome: Calaveras Dome

Old Smokey Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: brri2000 on 2007-06-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Good mix over 8 pitches.

There was a good mix of climbing here...face, crack, etc. Calaveras Dome and Hammer Dome get very little traffic and almost every time we've been out there we've had both Domes to ourselves. Maybe that's because there's not much book beta around except for an out-of-print book by William Cottrell. It was a good way to spend my Father's Day. There's one scary part on the 4th pitch (I think) where you have to do a small face traverse to the left beyond a awkwardly-placed bolt for only about 10 feet to a shallow thin crack, then climb up and to the right from there. Placed a tiny nut in the crack to feel better. I abandoned the crack and just climbed the face instead. The final pitch had one cool overhang move on a breadloaf looking rock. I will probably do this climb again in the future.

Added: 2007-06-18

> >|