Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

captaincrimp's Logbook (63 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< < > >|

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: West Texas: Hueco Tanks State Historic Site: East Mountain: Belly of the Beast

Belly of the Beast Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: captaincrimp on 2013-11-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Watch your head

cool line with a dabby finish. soft

Added: 2014-03-05

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: West Texas: Hueco Tanks State Historic Site: East Mountain: The Dark Heart

Something Different Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: captaincrimp on 2010-01-14 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Toe Crimp

left shoe off.

Added: 2014-03-05

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Half Dome: North Face

Regular NW Face popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c A1
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: captaincrimp on 2013-05-28 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars My Favorite Big Wall

this was my second time to climb this. all around fun and suffering.

Added: 2014-03-05

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: North Dome: South Face

Crest Jewel Direct Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: captaincrimp on 2013-05-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars A soft-man link up

simul-climbed royal arches in under 3hrs. got lost on the approach to the regular start and ended up doing the direct. pulled on some draws at the crux. a never ending slab. finished in the dark and hiked back to camp 4 via the falls trail. delirium set in.

Added: 2014-03-05

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: El Capitan: East Buttress of El Cap

East Buttress of El Cap popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: captaincrimp on 2012-06-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Good Story

woke up late and got some friends to drop us off at the trail head. hiked up the talus to the base in the sun. my buddy looks over at me and says, "where's the rope?". we left it. at least there was a beautiful view to eat lunch and contemplate our shame. some italians bailed on the pitch 2 chimney and I told them of our predicament. the friendly euros let us borrow their rope and we finished as the sun set by simul-climbing the easy sections!



Added: 2014-03-05

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: El Capitan: Southwest Face: El Capitan

Salathe Wall popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d A2+
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: captaincrimp on 2012-05-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Epic

hauled freeblast (dumb). slept on lung ledge. hollow flake and ear pitches were amazing / slightly horrifying. got hit by a softball sized rock on the shoulder and thought I broke my collar bone. took pain killers and kept going. Slept on el cap spire. amazing! honnold and caldwell flew past in the night. head wall was incredible. most exposure i've ever seen. slept on long ledge. took a 40ft aid whipper and shredded my hand. hiked to east ledges where my partner dropped the haul bag 400 ft or so. whoops. lost all the trad gear. our buddy was not waiting to pick us up. walked back to camp 4. i was sofa king tired. took a week off.

Added: 2014-03-05

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: El Capitan: Southwest Face: El Capitan

The Nose popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b A2
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: captaincrimp on 2011-06-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Classic

big wall style. fix to syckle. sleep on dolt. sleep at camp IV. sleep at camp VI. Summit. Sleep on top next to fire.

Amazing adventure and great life experience.

Added: 2014-03-05

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Enchanted Rock State Park: Little Dome-Kingdom of Zilch

Road to Nowhere Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.12a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: captaincrimp on 2013-10-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars great crimping fun

A great e-rock sport climb.

Added: 2014-03-05

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Enchanted Rock State Park: Freshman Mtn.-Mirage Wall

Whimpy Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: captaincrimp on 2013-11-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars soft

Choss to one move. Cool finger locks for e-rock.!

Grade must be a typo.

Added: 2014-03-05

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: West Texas: Hueco Tanks State Historic Site: North Mountain: Martini Roof

Baby Martini Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: captaincrimp on 2013-12-23 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Hard finish

sweet roof. no top out.

Added: 2014-03-04

|< < > >|