Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

chotoken's Logbook (11 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (1)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Stone Mountain State Park: South Face - Routes Starting From "Tree Ledge"

No Alternative popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: chotoken on 2012-10-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Awesome day for a climb

P1 is lots of fun with plenty of places for pro. It takes a full 60m rope to do this pitch. Lots of variation, a very fun route. P2 is a bit runout, but if you have some small nuts you can protect it somewhat before you reach the bolt. Failure before your first piece would suck. P3 has only 1 spot for pro, but levels off so much that it doesn't matter. The next time I would belay each climber over to the tree at the base of the route. I think it would help with rope length, and rope drag on this route. Both were a concern. Also, an ascent note wouldn't be complete without a comment about the exposure. It's awesome!!!!!

Added: 2012-10-20

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Stone Mountain State Park: South Face - Access Routes to Tree Ledge

Block Route popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: chotoken on 2012-10-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great Day

I have climbed this route several times. This was my first time leading it. I like this route, but the second pitch is run out a bit until your first piece. It is an easy section, but if you blow it, it would suck. That's why I give this route a PG13.

Added: 2012-10-20

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Pilot Mountain: Tall Gray Wall

Black Rain Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: chotoken on 2012-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun Route with Variation

Climbed the 5.7 variation of this route. Tons of fun. I can see where the first bolt from the ground, and first bolt off the big ledge could be an issue. We set up a Top Rope on "Start the Car" and traversed over on a 12" ledge near the top. If you fall there is a bit of a swing. It's not too bad if you are ready for it.

Added: 2012-05-25

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Pilot Mountain: Tall Gray Wall

My Husband Is Going to Kill Me Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: chotoken on 2012-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Just Plain Fun

Great fun route. To access the bolts I used a sling on the tree just above the bolts. I talked to an older gentelman there who knew the history very well. He said that hanger has been spinning for about 3 years, the other is a little loose too. They are still solid, and you could back it up with the tree above if you want; I did. The route was great, and several lines that are great options. Lots of chance to explore your own style of climbing and movement.

Added: 2012-05-25

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Stone Mountain State Park: South Face - Routes Starting From "Tree Ledge"

Great Arch popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: chotoken on 2012-04-13 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars First Lead

My first lead. Not too bad for the the first time. Once I got past the first pitch it was all good. The nerves settled, and it was great!

Added: 2012-05-07

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Pilot Mountain: Amphitheater

Turkey Shoot popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: chotoken on 2011-08-26 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Nice Climb

Sweet climb. The first few moves are a bear. After that it's smooth sailing. Still a solid climb though. It took me a while to get the moves past the first bolt. It was also sweet when it was done!

Added: 2011-08-26

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Pilot Mountain: Amphitheater

Mild-mannered Secretary popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: chotoken on 2011-07-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Nice Fun Route

This is a nice route with lots of big moves. Some of the bigger holds are spread out, but if you like big moves this is a nice one. You could also work on the use of smaller holds as well if you are so inclined.

Added: 2011-08-08

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Stone Mountain State Park: South Face - Access Routes to Tree Ledge

Block Route popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: chotoken on 2011-06-22 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Nice Route

A nice two pitch route. Lots of fun, and a great warmup before Tree Ledge. I gave it a PG-13 because it is a bit run out for the leader.

Added: 2011-06-24

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Stone Mountain State Park: South Face - Routes Starting From "Tree Ledge"

Great Arch popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: chotoken on 2011-06-22 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Awesome climb

It dumped the rain as soon as we got there. We waited a few hours for the rock to dry, then had a great time. Wat awesome view. The route wasn't hard, mostly footwork. However, the fun factor is way up there!

Added: 2011-06-24

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Pilot Mountain: Parking Lot

Vegomatic Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: chotoken on 2010-10-22 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great Day

Nice to get out and hit a few routes.

Added: 2010-10-24

> >|