Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

climbingaggie03's Logbook (99 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Georgia: Georgia North: Lost Wall: Prehistoric Wall

Didn't Make it to Sunset Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: climbingaggie03 on 2008-05-10 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Sandy in spots

I wasn't sure what I was getting on when I got on this, but it looked like a fun line, so I thought I'd give it a go. I took the refrigerator crack finish because I didn't even look at the roof, but it was worth a climb. At the top there was some cord and a quick link around a tree, not a bad anchor, but if you have some cord it wouldn't hurt to have another wrap of cord. Mountain project says this route is a 5.8, I'd call it 5.8-5.9, hard to say, especially since I took refrigerator crack instead of pulling the roof.

the jams were pretty straight forward and there were just enough face holds that you almost didn't have to jam your feet.

Added: 2008-05-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Half Dome: South West Face

Snake Dike popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: climbingaggie03 on 2007-10-23 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A long walk with some climbing involved

I've done snake dike twice and it's a good climb, with a long walk. The good thing is that the parking lot is near the all you can eat buffet. My recommended rack is half a rack of stoppers (mostly larger sizes), Yellow TCU, Black Power Cam, Red Camalot, six trad draws, two double length runners (for anchors and extending your first piece) You can also sub a yellow link cam for a red camalot. You can tie off chicken heads with slings to reduce runouts. Don't go for the sucker bolts on the start of the 2nd or 3rd pitch (depending on how you climb it)

Added: 2008-01-30

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Knob Hill: Knob Hill

Sloth Wall Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: climbingaggie03 on 2006-10-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars My first 5.7 gear lead in the Valley

The bottom section of the climb has your attention and is followed by a fun jug haul on knobs. Sling your pro well and run it out as necessary, rope drag can suck as this climb wanders some.

Added: 2008-01-30

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Knob Hill: Knob Hill

Just for Starters Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: climbingaggie03 on 2007-10-22 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Thin Slab move to easier climbing

Fun climb, kind of run out towards the top, a yellow or orange tcu can help as well as a #2 camalot

Added: 2008-01-30

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Knob Hill: Knob Hill

unnamed 5.9 Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: climbingaggie03 on 2007-10-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars A good chance to practice footwork and finger cracks

Not a bad climb and good practice for other valley climbs. The bolts that were at the top are chopped, but there is a crack that makes the setup fairly easy

Added: 2008-01-30

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Manure Pile Buttress: Sunnyside Bench

Regular Route Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: climbingaggie03 on 2007-10-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun Route

fun easy route, the 5.5 var is kinda of interesting in a wide way, followed by a fun, well protected friction traverse. The descent is gnarly, don't do it in the dark.

Added: 2008-01-30

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Manure Pile Buttress: Manure Pile Buttress

Nutcracker popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: climbingaggie03 on 2007-10-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun route

A good route, the fourth pitch is interesting, long and sustained. you can bail out from the top of the fourth pitch over to after six if you need to. be careful on that mantel.

Added: 2008-01-30

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Five and Dime: Main Cliff

Mockery Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: climbingaggie03 on 2006-11-19 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars a7

a

Added: 2007-01-17

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Lost Horse: Hemingway Buttress

White Lightning popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: climbingaggie03 on 2006-11-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great Climb

The OW down low is the crux, but it protects well with a #3 camalot, I pretty much placed the whole rack on this climb, but never had to run it out if I didn't want to. The crux was solid 5.7, but after that it was 5.fun. The top (I went left) is a little exposed, but protects well with a #1 camalot, or green metolious cam and isn't too hard.

Added: 2007-01-15

Routes: North America: United States: Nevada: Red Rock Canyon: Black Velvet Canyon: Black Velvet Wall

Epinephrine popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: climbingaggie03 on 2006-11-16 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Awesome day of climbing

I loved this climb, it's every thing a grade IV 5.9 should be. I followed every pitch and carried the pack because my shoes blew out on the first pitch and I didn't want to be leading that close to my limit on leather.

We did it in 12 hours car to car without simulclimbing until we got to the top of pitch 9 or 10 (which ever is the last 5.9 pitch) for the anchors, since they are all 2 bolt belay anchors, we took a double length sling and set it up for a sliding X with limiting knots, and then clipped a carabiner at each end for the bolts. When we got to the anchor, the leader would clip the sling to the bolts, clove hitch in, go off belay, clip his belay device to the anchor, pull up the rope, put the second on belay, and we were ready to go. We had 2 slings set up like that, so the second would bring the other one up, give it to the leader and we would save time off of building anchors.

the last couple of pitches didn't have hangers on the bolts, but since you'll have nuts with you, it's not a huge deal to sling them.

Added: 2007-01-06

> >|