Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

d2reid's Logbook (15 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: West Texas: Franklin Mountains State Park: Sneed Cory

07 Great Escape Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: d2reid on 2012-12-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great escpape, left or right

About half way up is a pinnacle. Go left or go right. Anchor is directly above. Went right, it was easier. One of our first sport climbs.

Added: 2013-01-11

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Pilot Mountain: Three Bears

Honey Pot Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: d2reid on 2012-10-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Working Slowly

One of the nice things about this area is there are climbers that come from all over. Met Keith and Travis, Keith was an instructor for a number of years. We enjoyed a good climb and better conversation.

Added: 2012-11-11

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Pilot Mountain: Little Amphitheater

Dirty Rotten Scoundrel Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: d2reid on 2012-10-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Familiar Face

We have been here before but really enjoy the climb.

Added: 2012-11-11

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Whitehorse Ledge: The Slabs

Standard Route popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: d2reid on 2012-10-09 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Class is in session

We took a lesson from EMS in Conway. Our first multi-pitch climb. Also a big lesson in smearing. The rock was very sticky so we had a pretty easy time of it, except, we gained practical knowledge on multi-rope management.

Added: 2012-10-09

Routes: North America: United States: Virginia: South Western: Backbone Rock: Waterfall Arete

Behind the tree Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: d2reid on 2012-06-20 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Behind the tree

We set up a top rope off of the parapit anchor and doubled up on some trees. Pretty easy climb. Rope management became interesting around the trees.

Added: 2012-10-05

Routes: North America: United States: Virginia: South Western: Backbone Rock: Across the street

Open Book Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: d2reid on 2012-06-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A day of fun

We set up a top rop off the crack. Then proceeded to make several climbs. Some worked out well, a couple were above our abilitiy when we go into the overhangs. With the creek babling nearby, and the motorcyclists stopping to give advice, it was a fun day

Added: 2012-10-05

Routes: North America: United States: Maine: Down East: Acadia National Park: Otter Cliffs

In the Groove ** popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: d2reid on 2012-09-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A climb with a view

We stopped off at AGS and picked up a little paper route guide for a couple of bucks. Since you have to start from the top, rappel, then climb back up itís a good idea to know before you go.

Added: 2012-10-05

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Pilot Mountain: Parking Lot

Chicken Bone Left Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: d2reid on 2012-05-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Chicken Bone or Unamed 5.7

The guide that we downloaded from carolina climbers .org showed this route as Unamed 5.7, another climber called this Chicken Bone. Barbara made it to the dinner plate sized flake then ran out of steam. This is a taller climb than what we are used to.

Added: 2012-05-09

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Pilot Mountain: Little Amphitheater

Grandpa's Belay Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: d2reid on 2012-05-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Through the crack

Barbara climbed this and only ran into trouble when she got to narrow section between the main face and the rock sticking out. Being skinny she got through there. When I climbed it I am to chunky, so traversed right out over the dihedral then back left which brought me almost to the end of the climb.

Added: 2012-05-09

Routes: North America: United States: Virginia: South Western: grayson highlands state park: the first cluster at Mount Rogers.

Boy Scout Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: d2reid on 2012-04-27 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Boy Scouts

There is very little climbing in this area so this was a nice practice climb. The rock was short. There are numerous small holes that make decent finger grips. We are fairly new to climbing so this was a good place to test finger grips. No overhangs. It is possible to do other routes off of the bolts at the top. But those were above our ability. Did I mention this was a short route.

Added: 2012-04-28

> >|