Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

dagibbs's Logbook (103 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Adirondack park: Keene Valley: Chapel Pond Slab

Empress Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dagibbs on 2011-06-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun

V1 variant the start, Greensleeves variant at the finish.

Added: 2011-06-06

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Adirondack park: Keene Valley: Chapel Pond Slab

Regular Route popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dagibbs on 2011-06-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Slow pokes!

Was good, but were stuck behind a slow group.

Added: 2011-06-06

Routes: North America: Canada: Quebec: Outaouais: Eardley Escarpment: 14 - Farm Rock

One Pine Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dagibbs on 2010-05-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Sure

Fine

Added: 2011-03-25

Routes: North America: Canada: Quebec: Laurentians: Val-David: Mont CÚsaire: L'Arabesque

L'Arabesque Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dagibbs on 2010-08-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars So many choices...

This is a lovely 5.3 wall, about 80m (260'), with lots of choices for how to run up it. It is hard to find "the route" with any particular name of the ones suggested on it. I followed the first pitch (about 40m) and then led the 2nd pitch. I think I found the 5.6 variation on the 2nd pitch (one of the hardest). I did find the final push to the top anchors quite run-out.

You also get a nice view out over the valley, and the town, from the top of the pitch.

Added: 2010-08-08

Routes: North America: Canada: Quebec: Laurentians: Val-David: Mont CÚsaire: Chico

L'Etonnante Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: dagibbs on 2010-08-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A fun top-rope

This has some very nice slab-climbing for its rating. Looks like some bits would be a bit run-out on lead.

Added: 2010-08-08

Routes: North America: Canada: Quebec: Laurentians: Val-David: Mont CÚsaire: Chico

In Between Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: dagibbs on 2010-08-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars accidental

We had a top-rope on one of the anchors, I was just following the rope... which happened to run up this -- so I climbed it be accident. Got down, and had one of the locals tell me I'd just climbed "In Between" -- the hardest climb on the wall. Seems a bit soft at 5.10a to me. (Then again, it seems that the area I usually climb tends towards stiff, some would say sandbag, ratings.) Still, it was tricky and delicate slab climbing in places.

Added: 2010-08-08

Routes: North America: Canada: Quebec: Laurentians: Val-David: Mont CÚsaire: Chico

Sans Nom Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dagibbs on 2010-08-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A classic line

Definitely a fun line, takes gear easy. The "direct" start is probably the hardest part of the line.

Added: 2010-08-08

Routes: North America: Canada: Quebec: Laurentians: Val-David: Mont CÚsaire: Chico

Le Nez Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dagibbs on 2010-08-07 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Meh

I'm not sure it is worth the 1 star in the guide. Not a bad route, but not great. At 5.3, I wasn't worried --- but if 5.3 were challenging, I might have found the placements a bit difficult/run-out.

Added: 2010-08-08

Routes: North America: Canada: Quebec: Laurentians: Val-David: Mont CÚsaire: Chico

Chico Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: dagibbs on 2010-08-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Easy, but fun.

I was seconding , so I played with variants.

Added: 2010-08-08

Routes: North America: Canada: Quebec: Montreal & surrounding areas: Mont Rigaud: Gully

Booty and the Hoe Fish Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: dagibbs on 2010-07-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars and lead it

came back

Added: 2010-08-03

> >|