Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

darkside's Logbook (39 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: Canada: Alberta: Banff-Lake Louise: Castle Mountain: castle mountain

brewers buttress Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: darkside on 2006-07-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

It's a long bloody hike but a worthy route. We started block leading but I ended up leading each pitch as we were being efficient that way.
It's a 13 pitch route but some pitches can be linked.
Generally good quality rock after the first two pitches and great climbing with good partners.

Witnessed by: Jumpingrock & Em
Added: 2006-07-16

Routes: North America: Canada: Alberta: Banff-Lake Louise: Guides Rock: Take if For Granite

Cheese Grater Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: darkside on 2006-05-13 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Fairly well bolted although I ended up going right before the top of the first pitch. It kinda looked like some rock scars meant there were more little edges at one time. Really enjoyed the second pitch.

Witnessed by: Emilie
Added: 2006-05-13

Routes: North America: Canada: Alberta: Canmore: Grassi Lakes: White Imperialist Area

Spin Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Flash Flash ascent by: darkside on 2006-04-30 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Kevin lead it first so I can't claim an onsight although I couldn't see all the moves. Some nice roof moves though.

Witnessed by: kman
Added: 2006-04-30

Routes: North America: Canada: Alberta: Canmore: Grassi Lakes: White Imperialist Area

Pink Flamingos Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: darkside on 2006-04-30 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Just went to the 5.9 anchors as a warm up. Having done the route next to it though, the 5.10 finish looks worth trying... just not as a warm up.

Witnessed by: kman
Added: 2006-04-30

Routes: North America: Canada: Alberta: Canmore: Grassi Lakes: White Imperialist Area

Johnny Mnemonic Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: darkside on 2006-04-30 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Didn't like this route's crux. The bolt located out left seems contrived to make you go left on a harder line. Right and straight up right seemed a more natural line but was otherwise an OK route.

Witnessed by: kman
Added: 2006-04-30

Routes: North America: Canada: Alberta: Canmore: Grassi Lakes: White Imperialist Area

Lawyers Guns and Money Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: darkside on 2006-04-30 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Nice enough route but the two finger pocket had me wondering if I was actually on the right route.

Witnessed by: kman
Added: 2006-04-30

Routes: North America: Canada: Alberta: Canmore: Grassi Lakes: White Imperialist Area

Carom Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: darkside on 2006-04-29 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Tricky to get off the ground.

Witnessed by: kman
Added: 2006-04-29

Routes: North America: Canada: Alberta: Kananaskis Country: Barrier Mountain: Escape Wall

Lockin' 'r Hookin' Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: darkside on 2006-04-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

An enjoyable route.

Witnessed by: jumpingrock
Added: 2006-04-15

Routes: North America: Canada: Alberta: Kananaskis Country: Barrier Mountain: Escape Wall

Drifter's Escape Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: darkside on 2006-04-15 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

The first part of the climb was a lot of fun. The offwidth was a grunt (as most are) but the worrying part was the gear. The first large cam was OK but once up into the offwidth section, the second large cam (#5 Camalot I think) slid down with a simple pull test. It was set at a good camming range but the rock was just too smooth. When placed further back, it opened up too far. A repositioning still led to a slipped pull test so I placed it as best I could and continued to a slightly higher stance where I got a much more secure BigBro placement. I don't think I'll bother trying the route again; it felt too close to a solo with the unreliable cam.

Witnessed by: Jumpingrock
Added: 2006-04-15

Routes: North America: Canada: British Columbia: Near Field: Mt Dennis: Mt Dennis Ice

Guinness Gulley Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: darkside on 2006-02-22 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Although I don't usually climb below another party, the bowls on the first two pitches made it possible to follow our friends as a second party. On the final pitch they had taken the right side so I lead up the left. It was steeper and W4+ or harder. I got totally pumped and had to clip into a screw near the top of the vertical section to de-pump and avoid the risk of falling. Not an easy decision but I believe it was needed.

Witnessed by: Nick C
Added: 2006-02-22

> >|