Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

dindolino32's Logbook (100 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (1)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Donner Summit: Black Wall

One hand clapping popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dindolino32 on 2012-09-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars great 5.9 but not for the beginning leader

Kind of runout with bad fall potential but definitly worth it.

Added: 2012-09-05

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Camp 4 Wall: main camp 4 wall

Henley Quits Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: dindolino32 on 2012-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Climbed on fixed rope, seemed very hard for a 5.10a (sandbagged?)

I had a good time thrashing up this, which usually I have good crack technique. Maybe I was missing some special beta but I had a hell of a time after the good fist jams and couldn't secure myself. Maybe I should have taped up as my right hand still has a wound. Definitely worth it on a fixed rope at the end of the day.

Added: 2012-07-07

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Manure Pile Buttress: Manure Pile Buttress

Nutcracker Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dindolino32 on 2012-07-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars 5.9 variation with Nikki. Great climb

Great climb. Classic. Mantel was very easy and secure, just keep it under control. I thought the 1st roof was harder and less secure. Also, ensure you know where belay stations are before starting each pitch as they were much less obvious than I thought.

Added: 2012-07-07

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Cathedral Rocks: Rocks: Higher Cathedral Rock: East Face

Braille Book Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dindolino32 on 2012-07-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Dont underestimate, but dont fear the book! And bring a #4 camalot

WOW, the approach totally blew! It took my wife and I quite a while longer than the 1.5 hrs that I expected. There was no real trail after the boulder field. Then we got to the level of the climb and just bushwacked to the base. We didn't bring a bag, which was a good idea since there was offwidth and a chimney.The 1st pitch was face climbing seemed like I was on sandstone: STEEP with protruding flake/dishes that mostly had good incuts. I ended out running most of it to speed up the ascent. Belay on ledge on right with an old bolt above you. 2nd pitch was quick with face climbing and some crack climbing. Pro was probably there too but I just kept running it out. Which was weird because I was actually sketched out, but just kept going. this pitch passes another OLD bolts. 3rd was REALLY LONG, almost the full 60 meters. I never really found the chimney to be slippery, I just pushed the #3 up the crack and then took it back when I clipped a natural chock. I was glad I did because I used it on the 2nd part too.
4th pitch had the offwidth, but this seemed solid for me the whole time, I switch the direction that I faced about 20 feet up when I got a good fist jam. The pro was there with some small nuts and some pitons were there when I started to worry.
At the end of the 4th pitch (i think it was 4th) after pulling the 5.5 roof, there were some new bolts for rapping down. continue just to the left up the easy crack and belay. The next pitch was not so obvious as you are now on a ledge and facing a new direction. climb to the right and over a gully that is pretty exposed to a big tree, sling it if you like and make your way up and above the tree. From there you are home free! This was definitely a classic

Added: 2012-07-06

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Swan Slab: Swan Slab

Grant's Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dindolino32 on 2012-07-02 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars fun but short

worth the time since it's so close to camp

Added: 2012-07-06

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Swan Slab: Swan Slab

Unnamed Thin Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: dindolino32 on 2012-07-02 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars onsight on top rope (if that is possible)

Good route to try after grants crack. Both are really short though

Added: 2012-07-06

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Swan Slab: Swan Slab

Unnamed Seam Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: dindolino32 on 2012-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars fun and crimpy

TR with Akos from Hungary. Good climb

Added: 2012-07-06

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Swan Slab: Swan Slab

Lena's Lieback Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dindolino32 on 2012-07-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars 2nd time and remember why I liked it.

The route is close enough to finish up a night without a long trek back to camp. Non exposed, and fun moves.

Added: 2012-07-06

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Five Open Books: Five Open Books

Commitment Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dindolino32 on 2012-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars 2nd time, still enjoyable.

climbed with the Hungarian Akos. We had a blast. Great climb with no run out or dangerous spots. Splitter, small roof, the bigger one. Only one 5.9 move on big roof. Good fun

Added: 2012-07-06

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Five Open Books: Five Open Books

Munginella popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dindolino32 on 2012-07-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars 3rd or 4th time and still was great

I have to say every time I have taken some newbies on this route I still have a blast. 2 pitches, belay station above 3rd tree.

Added: 2012-07-06

> >|