Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

dlTOm's Logbook (41 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (19)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Lovers Leap: Lower Buttress

The Farce Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dlTOm on 2007-06-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars good steep & easy route

A fun route with dikes so huge you don't need to worry about the pro. 5.4 seems right--it's steep but easy.

Added: 2008-01-20

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: South Platte Area: Bucksnort Slab: Bucksnort Slab

Classic Dihedral Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dlTOm on 1992-12-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars rope solo

Belayed myself--kind of--on a solo ascent, took forever, drove back to Denver falling asleep on the way and woke up east of the city still driving... spooky. Great climb, though, and would make a good early lead for someone.

Added: 2008-01-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Lovers Leap: East Wall

Pop bottle popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: dlTOm on 2007-06-14 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars not TOO bad

It ain't the best climb I've done, but it's a heck of a lot better than spending the day at work or something like that. I followed my brother up p.1 and the last pitch. And I saw a rattlesnake on the walk out.

Added: 2008-01-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Ryan Campground: Headstone Rock

SW Corner popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dlTOm on 1991-03-05 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Cool route

There's something cool about climbing a single giant boulder, and hanging out in the desert watching all the joshua trees and that blue, blue sky... My first bolted route way back when I was just starting to lead for real.

Added: 2008-01-19

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: St. George: Zion National Park: Leaning Wall

Spaceshot popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty A1
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dlTOm on 2002-03-17 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars psyched out

Climbed up to somewhere below the high ledge and did a hammock bivi on day one. Then, for no apparent reason other than a total psych-out (and no, nothing bad had happened, just somehow mysteriously "not into it") we climbed one more pitch in the morning and then rapped the route without topping out. I think we may have heard horror stories about the descent from the summit or something. But as John Long has written, you don't really need much of an excuse to quit on a wall--even an easy one like this. A great route, though, and I regret not finishing it--yet, anyway.

Added: 2008-01-19

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: St. George: Zion National Park: Cerebrus Gendarme

Touchstone Wall III 5.9 C1 (or 5.12) popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.1 A1
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dlTOm on 2002-03-16 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars not quite...

Got high on this wall in a day, then rapped the route in the dark (11:00p.m. or so) when we noticed my wife waiting in the car at the pullout way down below. Next time...it's too good an easy aid route not to finish. But dang, I gots to get faster!

Added: 2008-01-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Split Rocks: Isles in the Sky

Dolphin Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dlTOm on 1991-03-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars My first off-width

This was my first climb at JT, and I didn't want to do it. My brother led it halfway until he decided leaving the #4 Camalot behind wasn't so smart and came down. Then he wouldn't go back up. Of course, it turned out to be a great introduction to the kind of holdless wide cracks we don't see in Wisconsin, and I felt great after leading it.

Added: 2008-01-19

Routes: North America: United States: Wyoming: Western Wy.: Wind River: Cirque of the Towers

Overhanging Tower-west face Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dlTOm on 2000-07-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars easy summit, tough hike

This one is a LONG hike from camp, and probably not worth it alone (although I enjoyed the approach for its own sake, moving through some cool terrain above tree line). However, it's close to the North Face of Shark's Nose, so if you're in the area (or waiting in line for Shark's Nose as we were, or even descending from Wolfs Head with time to spare) I'd say go on up and enjoy one of the coolest summits in the Cirque. The route is so easy that when we climbed it, someone's dog followed us more than halfway up, and then ran down our rap route to descend. Made us feel a bit foolish rapping...

Added: 2008-01-19

Routes: North America: United States: Wyoming: Western Wy.: Wind River: Haystack Mountain

North Face Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dlTOm on 2001-08-14 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars decent climb

Good climb up low angle face with a roof somewhere in there. A nice short half rest day climb between longer climbs.

Added: 2008-01-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Church Bowl: Church Bowl

Black is Brown Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dlTOm on 2006-06-13 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars eh...don't bother

Not my favorite route--the first part of the pitch before the step right is broken up so you only get a few nice moves at a time. Then you have to traverse way right (it's not just a step after all) on some flaky, gritty rock, and if you're dumb like I was, massive rope drag pulling you off at the 5.7+ crux layback when you're 15 feet out and right from your last piece. You could break it into two pitches to avoid this, but then the pitches are WAY short. Climb Bishops Terrace or the layback route instead.

Added: 2008-01-19

> >|