Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

falke's Logbook (76 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Phoenix Area: Superstition Mountains: Suction Gully

Spider Walk Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: falke on 2011-03-05 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars All anchors are good now

A few updates and additional beta for the route:
The top of ALL pitches now have great new solid anchors.
The anchors at the top of pitch 3 are on the south-west side of the large bolder at the top of the chimney (they are very hard to find if you don't know this)
Bring a large cam for pitch 4. I didn't have one big enough, but wished I did. Pitch 4 is the shortest pitch (90 feet).
Aside from P4 this climb is run-out. If you place a lot of gear then you will experience extreme rope-drag. We had serious drag with very minimal gear placement.
There are 5 great rappel stations (an extra 1 is halfway down pitch 1). When you rappel, keep in mind where your rope will hang. Leave your rope so that when you pull it you minimize the possibility of your rope sliding into potential hangup spots.
The pitch 4 anchors are 1,020ft (311 meters) above the siphon draw trail (I brought my rangefinder to get some exact distances).

Added: 2011-03-07

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Phoenix Area: Queen Creek Canyon: Garland Area

Son of Mustang Ford Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: falke on 2009-10-18 (View Climbing Log)

1 out of 5 stars This climb sucks bigtime!

I consider myself a pretty solid 5.10 climber and this climb kicked my ass. Maybe with proper beta its a 5.9, but I just couldn't figure it out. This thing is way harder than most of the 5.10s I've done. Has anyone else tried this thing?

Added: 2009-10-19

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Jacks Canyon: High Life Wall

Sunday Stroll Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: falke on 2009-09-27 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Back again...

This area can be either a great sneaky place to get away from the crowds, or exactly the opposite. Still worth the time hike over here.

Added: 2009-10-01

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Jacks Canyon: High Life Wall

Looking Sharp Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: falke on 2009-09-27 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars As always... great warmup

I like this one better than the middle one

Added: 2009-10-01

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Jacks Canyon: Cracker Jack Cliffs

Everything It's Cracked Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: falke on 2009-09-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Confidence builder!

If you are just getting to 5.10, then this one will push you. The crux is well protected at the top, and a great way to test your skills. I loved this climb.

Added: 2009-10-01

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Jacks Canyon: Cracker Jack Cliffs

Saucy Jack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: falke on 2009-09-27 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars I really liked it!

Great moves, very positive feel, fun if you are just getting up to 5.10

Added: 2009-10-01

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Jacks Canyon: Cracker Jack Cliffs

Jack Pot Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: falke on 2009-09-26 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Warm-down climb

Our last climb of the day... OK first lead, other than that, kind of boring compared to Jack-Off just to the right of this one.

Added: 2009-10-01

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Jacks Canyon: Cracker Jack Cliffs

Big Plans Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: falke on 2009-09-26 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Second 5.10 this year

This route just looked do-able, and it was. good times.

Added: 2009-10-01

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Jacks Canyon: Casino Cliffs

Circus Circus Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: falke on 2009-09-26 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Morning Warmup

Great warmup

Added: 2009-10-01

Routes: North America: United States: Arizona: Northern: Jacks Canyon: Casino Cliffs

Easy Money Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: falke on 2009-09-26 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Hmm

Maybe a good upgrade to the rock climbing log system would be to allow log entries without needing to record ascents?

Added: 2009-09-30

> >|