Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

fluffystuff's Logbook (135 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (6)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Coos County: Mt. Washington: Huntington Ravine

Northeast Ridge of the Pinnacle popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fluffystuff on 2011-08-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars fun

Beautiful to be on Mt Washington. Did this route twice in the last week. Drove up auto-road, to avoid hike up and return hike down. Just more relaxed that way, but pricey.

Only a few moves of actual climbing on the route, but super fun. Try not to miss the fairytale traverse. To find it, head right when in the exposed ramp on the 2nd to last pitch. If you continue up the ramp and exit the ramp, you have gone too far. We missed this traverse the first time. Super fun!

Oh, and did the 5.8 variation both times. The 5.7 looks scary. The move off the belay looks hard, then the slabby moves to get to the chminey seem scarily above gear. I dunno. I might just be a whimp.

Added: 2011-08-05

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Grafton County: Eagle Cliff, the Eaglet and vicinity: The Eaglet

West Chimney Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fluffystuff on 2011-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great exposure

This was super fun. Went up arete. Been told that is 5.8. It's uber heady 5.8 too. Not easy for the 2nd either, since the anchor is to the right of the arete and would be a tiny, safe swing, but still heady!

Not sure where the 5.7/5.6 finish is. It sure is not on the front side of the feature that faces the highway. That seems to be the 5.8 finish.

Added: 2011-08-02

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Cathedral Ledge: The Upper Left Wall

The Book of Solemnity Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fluffystuff on 2011-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars first pitch only

led the first pitch. err... i think it was 5.7 a0, with how i stepped on the pins. i couldn't help myself. they were right there. and, the alternative was having good slab technique. maybe next time, i'll be brave enough...

Added: 2011-08-02

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Cathedral Ledge: The Upper Left Wall

Layton's Ascent Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fluffystuff on 2011-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars crack!

loved the crack on this. i think it was hand or fist jamming. super fun. =)

Added: 2011-08-02

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Cathedral Ledge: The Upper Left Wall

Chicken Delight Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fluffystuff on 2011-08-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars morning jitters

great lead, but definitely was elvis legging in the beginning. getting off the ground after a long drive is always the crux.

Added: 2011-08-02

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Cathedral Ledge: Thin Air Face

No Man's Land Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: fluffystuff on 2011-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars ok

followed this route. was sorta bored. run-out section for sure. easy dike climbing, but woulda been terrified on lead.

Added: 2011-08-02

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Cathedral Ledge: The North End

The Slot Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Rock Quality
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fluffystuff on 2011-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars sweet!

intimidated to lead it, based on the grade, thin looking gear, and what looked like a blank section half-way up. turned out to be an amazing lead though. plenty of gear, and the section that looked blank had jugs.

it was a 87 degree day and i slipped off a hold while bumping to the crack. was happy that my belayer caught me. first trad fall that i can remember. phew. system worked.

thunderstorm was rolling in, so pulled on a piece of gear. will have to go back to get it clean sometime.

will take a second #0.3 bd cam next time. didn't need it, but woulda made it simpler to sew up.

Added: 2011-08-02

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Cathedral Ledge: The North End

They Died Laughing Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fluffystuff on 2011-08-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars fun

thought the bottom looked hard. turned out that was easy, but there were a few tough spots up higher.

Added: 2011-08-02

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Cathedral Ledge: The North End

Birds Nest Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fluffystuff on 2011-08-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars fun

protected well.

Added: 2011-08-02

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Cathedral Ledge: The Diedre Area

Diedre Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fluffystuff on 2011-07-17 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars jam 'on

This was so fun. Led 1, 3, & 5. Not sure how to do P2. I was too scared to try. Let go, and pulled myself up on a rope my partner dropped for me. Maybe I'll try it next time, without a backpack on.

Added: 2011-07-17

> >|