Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

gohmer's Logbook (6 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Routes: Asia: Thailand: Bangkok and Central Provinces: Khao Kra-Lhoke: Sea View

No Name Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: gohmer on 2008-12-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars hardest route to date for me

Short route that starts off with a lay back up a slot in the left edge of the face and the entrance to the short cavern. work small finger ledges up and right of 1st bold to good hand hold on the right. after clipping 2nd bolt start slight movement back to the left until under the anchor. Good food holds and pockets above 2nd bolt way.

This route is hard for me at 5'6" as some of the hand holds for the first 2 bolts are just out of reach and I have to make a couple of extra, hard moves. It is also the hardest route except the next pitch around the roof at Khao Kahlok.

Added: 2008-12-27

Routes: Asia: Thailand: Bangkok and Central Provinces: Khao Kra-Lhoke: Gazebo (sala)

No Name 2 Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: gohmer on 2008-11-11 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Great lunch spot

OK climb. Just left of the harder of the Sala routes. work slightly left to right from the arete in the grass next to the Sala.

Added: 2008-12-11

Routes: Asia: Thailand: Bangkok and Central Provinces: Khao Kra-Lhoke: Gazebo (sala)

No Name 1 Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: gohmer on 2008-11-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great lunch spot

The fist move, for short people (like me), is the tough part. By the 3rd move its fair sailing.

Added: 2008-12-11

Routes: Asia: Thailand: Bangkok and Central Provinces: Khao Kra-Lhoke: Main Arch

Cave route? Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: gohmer on 2008-12-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars hard on the hands

This short section above Natural Fudge has very sharp rock and a gentle touch is required if you have sensitive girly-hands like mine.

Great exposure, great scenery, applauding crowd of Thai locals enjoying a day at the beach below.

Rope solo'd

Added: 2008-12-11

Routes: Asia: Thailand: Bangkok and Central Provinces: Khao Kra-Lhoke: Main Arch

NATural FUDge Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: gohmer on 2008-12-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars guana eat what?

rope soled - don't have a modern self-belay device so use old school prussik (yes I know, dangerous and requires a free hand, etc - but what's a guy to do).

This is the funnest route here and draws the most audience for those who climb harder with cameras snapping.

Climb is easier than it looks and I give it a 5.10a at best. There's plenty of large holds and rest spots. I climbed both pitches without any effort where most 5.10 - 5.11 (my limit) usually gives me a good forearm pump.

You can toprope this by hiking up the nature trail that starts in the parking lot next to the ranger station. It's tricky to find, but there's plenty of new glue in bolts.

BEWARE THE ROCK BELOW THE ANCHOR IS EXTREMELY SHARP.

I first top roped the two sections as I couldn't see the upper part well enough since it's in the dark of the roof of the cave. Layed mat down on sharp rock to protect my rope.

Added: 2008-12-11

Routes: Asia: Thailand: Bangkok and Central Provinces: Khao Kra-Lhoke: Sea View

Little Fawn Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: gohmer on 2008-12-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars rope a dope

roped solo'd with prussik (old, old-school)

Added: 2008-12-11