Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

haole1's Logbook (7 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Castle Rock State Park: Castle Rock Falls

Lieback Corner Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: haole1 on 2012-02-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars good practice

this was a great route to practice placing some gear.

Added: 2012-02-05

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Castle Rock State Park: Castle Rock Falls

** The Falls popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: haole1 on 2012-02-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars scary lead

rapped from the obs deck pillar closest to the falls (back-up on the tree.) better to rap off the other side next time, as the rope got a little wet at the bottom. did the direct start. had no beta, besides word of mouth saying it was 5.8. thought, damn, that's way harder than 5.8. felt like 5.11. first route of the day. those first few moves were not the best warm up. awesome mono pocket after the first bolt. was able to set a .5 C4 in the first big pocket towards the top. wasted time on the second big pocket though. nothing would fit right, not even the tri-cams i had. then i looked up and saw the next bolt was only another 6 feet up. so just went on. kind of run out, but those few moves were minor. cruxy start for sure. so serene to have the sound of the waterfall in the back ground. just beautiful.

Added: 2012-02-05

Routes: Asia: Thailand: Southern Provinces: Railay East Beach: Muai Thai (Thai Boxing)

Muay Thai Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: haole1 on 2010-07-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars made my day!

like most others, I had a little trouble at the first crux and had to take a rest on the second bolt, but smoked it cleanly on my second go from start to finish. such a creative route with cool features and great moves. a few different no-hands rest opportunities past the 2nd bolt. the beginning is really the only hard part. last 3rd of the route is all easy stemming.

Added: 2010-07-20

Routes: Asia: Thailand: Southern Provinces: Railay East Beach: Diamond Cave North Face

Mosquito Coil Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: haole1 on 2010-07-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars nice warm up!

this was the only route unoccupied when we got there in the morning. so we warmed up on it and got plenty warm. great holds. lots of jugs. so many options. not run out at all. good clean fun!

Added: 2010-07-20

Routes: Asia: Thailand: Southern Provinces: Koh Tao: Mek's Mountain

Car Jack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: haole1 on 2010-07-08 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars I got jacked

can't really claim it because I had to take a few rests on the final few scary clips before the anchor. but who knows when I'll make it back out to thailand. last third of the route is super exposed with the most spectacular view of the island. super sharp granite that reminded me of the feel of joshua tree rock. big thanks to the good time folks for putting up such a fun route!


Added: 2010-07-20

Routes: North America: United States: Hawaii: Oahu: Mokuleia Crag: Main Wall

Pig Tree popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: haole1 on 2008-10-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars minors cuz

fun, easy route. good warm up. I like the lay back moves at the start. good holds all the way up.

Added: 2008-10-29

Routes: North America: United States: Hawaii: Oahu: Mokuleia Crag: Main Wall

Smoke Stack (R) Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: haole1 on 2008-10-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars first route I tried here

the approach up the side of the mountain was tougher than I was expecting. had to catch my breath before jumping on this route. pretty solid 5.8. I thought the cruxy beginning was more like a 5.9 or 5.10, but the rest of it is as easy or as hard as you make it. onsight, top rope.

Added: 2008-10-29