Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

holmeslovesguinness's Logbook (115 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Boulder Area: Boulder Canyon: Cob Rock

Northwest Corner Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: holmeslovesguinness on 2005-09-18 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Another great route on Cob Rock. I thought it was the hardest of the 5.7's there (or at least a bit more serious than the others).

Witnessed by: Diane
Added: 2005-09-18

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Northern Colorado: South Saint Vrain Canyon: Spire Rock

Right Arete Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: holmeslovesguinness on 2005-09-10 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Decent, but not great. The crux is definitely waaaay harder for shorter people. I thought it was probably 5.9ish for someone my height, hard 10 for short folks.

Witnessed by: Diane
Added: 2005-09-10

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Lovers Leap: East Wall

East Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: holmeslovesguinness on 2005-08-18 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

The last route we did on our Leap trip. Fun, steep, fairly sustained at the crux on p2, good stuff. Squirrels chewed a hole through my wife's pack, her Shady Brady hat, then left a few nice turds in it as a parting gift.

Witnessed by: Jody K
Added: 2005-08-18

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Lovers Leap: East Wall

Haystack popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: holmeslovesguinness on 2005-08-17 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

First did this in 94' on my first visit to the Leap. Jody and I took another run up this on our most recent visit, great route. I had more trouble with the face climbing off the belay on p2 than the roof that immediately follows.

Added: 2005-08-17

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Lovers Leap: East Wall

East Wall popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: holmeslovesguinness on 2005-08-16 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Jody and I took a run up this very fun route. We continued up the right facing dihedral after p1 rather than traverse out left from the big belay ledge. Most definitely harder than 5.6 going that way (few moves of 5.8 or 5.9 at the end of dihedral), but some nice climbing. The traverse is cool, exposed but very solid.

Added: 2005-08-16

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Lovers Leap: Lower Buttress

The Groove popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: holmeslovesguinness on 2005-08-15 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Fun little route, great first pitch. The start is probably a one move 5.8, the rest is fun 5.7. Set up the first pitch on top rope for my cousins to try. Pitch two is so-so, a 5.5ish short run out to very easy ground. Could probably do the whole route in one pitch with a 60m rope.

Added: 2005-08-15

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Northern Colorado: Buttonrock Resevior: River Wall

Introducing Meteor Dad Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: holmeslovesguinness on 2005-07-28 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Solid rock, fun route. I'll get the redpoint on this next time around I think.

Witnessed by: Tom
Added: 2005-07-28

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Northern Colorado: Combat Rock: Combat Rock

Diagonal Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: holmeslovesguinness on 2005-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Good stuff - first did this the summer of 2003 with Tom. Did this again today with Jody. This really is one of my favorite routes on the front range, a good challenge for my abilities and an aesthetic line in general.

Added: 2005-07-03

Routes: North America: United States: Wyoming: Eastern Wy.: Vedauwoo: Nautilus

Lower and Uppper Slot Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: holmeslovesguinness on 2005-06-19 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Did the lower slot left variation / upper slot back in 2003, did lower slot right / upper slot with Jody today. Very good route to practice your wide crack technique. Sustained and sharp. I have seen this rated anywhere from 5.6 to 5.8.

Also did Ain't Crack (5.8) and Achilles Last Stand / Ain't Crack Headwall (5.9) out at Reynolds Hill (beautiful area).

Added: 2005-06-19

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: Northern Colorado: Lumpy Ridge: Sundance Buttress

Kor's Flake popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: holmeslovesguinness on 2005-05-22 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Had first tried this in 2003 but got rained off the second pitch. Finally got back around to trying it again. Pretty excellent route. Two mediocre pitches to start, but after that it's gold. Tom lead the fatty third pitch, I took the 4th pitch with the exposed traverse (sweeeeet). p5 was also pretty good. Quite spanked afterwards, good stuff.

Witnessed by: Tom P.
Added: 2005-05-22

> >|