Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

jim23's Logbook (10 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Cathedral Ledge: Thin Air Face

Thin Air *** popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jim23 on 2007-10-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Thin Air

Cool autumn day, long line!!!

Added: 2008-04-01

Routes: North America: United States: Wyoming: Western Wy.: Grand Teton NP: Mt. Moran

South Buttress Right Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jim23 on 1997-09-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Moran SB right

scouted the approach the day before. ran into a moose on the approach around dawn, but we managed to bushwack around him. approach slabs straight-forward; route-finding pretty straight-forward; crux pretty much just a straight-forward grunt undercling- there is a placement for a smaller minicam- maybe I used blue alien? belayer should be on-task to let out some slack so leader does not pendulum into hideous jagged corner if he/she takes a fall when running out through the crux! get the route done in a timely fashion because the rappel route was VERY challenging to find even with plenty of daylight! retreat after the hanging slab traverse may be very difficult in bad weather!

Added: 2007-11-08

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: North Central Range: Vail: Fang Ampitheatre

The Thang Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty WI5 M6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: jim23 on 2001-02-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars pumpy

I struggled leading the rock section (completely dry)- when I finally got past the last bolt over thin ice to curtain, was a relief- nice and wet climb to the anchor.

Added: 2006-11-17

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: North Central Range: Vail: Fang Ampitheatre

The Fang Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty WI5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jim23 on 2001-02-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars hooked my way to top

Perfect conditions; pretty much hooked my way all the way up. Used tunnel threads all the way, but for one short screw. Watched someone take a 50+ footer lead fall on the Designator w/o a scatch lol.

Added: 2006-11-17

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: North Central Range: Vail: Fang Ampitheatre

Rigid Designator Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty WI5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jim23 on 2000-02-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Central prow, perfect plastic conditions.

We were the first there for the morning, I lead up left of the hacked-out groove up the right side, out on a clean vertical, wet prow- perfect conditions.

Added: 2006-11-17

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: High Peaks: Rocky Mountain National Park: Longs Peak

"Easy" Yellow Wall Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jim23 on 1998-09-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars All but pitch up to 'Almost Table Ledge'

Did the first four brilliant, steep pitches before getting stormed off. very sustained 5.9-5.10- climbing on solid vertical wall. Great route.

Added: 2006-11-17

Routes: North America: United States: Colorado: High Peaks: Rocky Mountain National Park: Longs Peak

Casual Route popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jim23 on 1996-08-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Casual Route

Bivied at Boulderfield, rapped from Chasm View in the dark- a little wet but we made it OK.

Added: 2006-11-17

Routes: North America: United States: Washington: Southwest Washington: Mt. Rainier: Disappointment Cleaver (D.C.)

Disappointment Cleaver Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jim23 on 2002-07-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars First group up in 2 weeks!

It had been snowing and blowing hard for nearly two weeks. At Camp Muir the guides said that it was endless postholing up to waist-deep snow the day before. We (5 of us) planned to go up in shifts to break trail, but as we ascended it seems the wind of the day previous had blown the route into hard pack. We made our way up past occassional wands in sunny brilliant weather, all by ourselves to the summit. Had it to ourselves for maybe a half hour before the other groups started coming up- I feel very lucky to have had such a fine ascent in the company of my friends alone on such a popular route!

Added: 2006-11-17

Routes: South and Central America: Argentina: Mendoza: Aconcagua: Vacas Valley Approach

Polish Glacier Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jim23 on 1998-02-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Solo attempt to Camp II (5900M)

I pursued a solo, unsupported expedition over 17 days, getting up to Camp II at foot of Polish glacier. I used a three season tent as my base camp tent at Plaza Argentina, then dug a snow trench w/tarp roof at Camp I, a cave at Amegino Col, and finally a cave at Camp II (it was a heavy snow year).

After moving up to my stocked cave at Camp II, well-acclimitized and healthy, my fuel would no longer burn in my stove (impurities?) and a storm came in. I rapidly broke camp and fled to the safety of a friend's tent at Camp I, and resigned myself to ending the attempt. It was for the best as the mountain was socked in for several days. I met no one who succeeded in summitting on this trip, and only heard of one rumored success during the month i was there. Tough luck! hope to return someday soon!

Make sure you get the best gas you can get in Mendoza- filter it, or maybe use a cartridge stove. I was using an MSR XGKII model with white gas purchased from a hardware store in mendoza- can't recall the specific shop...

Added: 2006-11-17

Routes: North America: United States: Wyoming: Western Wy.: Grand Teton NP: Grand Teton

Exum Ridge popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jim23 on 1996-09-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Direct Exum Ridge (Gold Face var.)

Cold start, but clear, breezy, sunny day up top. Gold face pitch is clean, sunny, face climb, fixed gear as I recall, variation at top of face (described in Rossiter guidebook).

Added: 2006-11-17